We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Nipa Thai

Nipa Thai
Ranked #97 of 23,854 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$76
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: One of only 15 UK restaurants recognised by the Thai government for its quality and cuisine, Nipa wears its heritage proudly on its sleeve. The teak-panelled interior is inspired by its sister restaurant in Bangkok, with a profusion of orchids that feel strangely at home in their first floor setting in the Lancaster Hotel overlooking the Italian Fountains of Hyde Park. Three set menus and the extensive à la carte offer a mouthwatering range of intense Thai flavours, mixing traditional dishes of central Thailand with regional specialities.
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely authentic Thai food, great service, value for money- we had the £19.50 offer before 7pm.
Felt like we were back in Thailand...superb.
Staff friendly and attentive but not too much.
Would recommend.

Thank QualityreviewsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mattyniceguy ,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. Its is great to read that you enjoyed our authentic Thai food and our great service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 372 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I took my boyfriend for a celebratory early dinner here and chose the Kantok menu (which has to be booked online beforehand). There was plenty of timings available for booking the day before which was great.

My boyfriend chose menu B while I chose the vegetarian menu. The food was great and he especially enjoyed his (plate cleaned!) although I'm sure my curry was missing beancurd (with a vegetable overload). Overall the food was great and £19.50 for curry, a starter dish, a side dish, rice and fruit dessert in central London you can't really go wrong! They also asked if we would like water, which came from a bottle for £4 (slightly deceptive however it was quite a large glass bottle).

The decor was very beautiful and before entering the restaurant itself seemed very classy and traditional. It was quiet at the time of day however the service was very good.

Pros:
Service, food, decor, portion size for Kantok menu

Cons: Would have liked a seat at the window since it was free and having the curry as presented on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Priya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014_RandB, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Priya T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend had a wonderful evening. Our Khantok menu has proven to be very popluar and we have received fantastic feedback from our guests.
You comments will be passed on to the Nipa Thai team.
We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you are contemplating on eating at this restuarant and you enjoy Thai food... then you can't go wrong with this place! The basil fried rice is supreme. Customer service very friendly and go show the birds some love! Yes they have a bird attraction outside. We came from Medford Oregon and decided to give it a try and were happy with the overall experience. Coming from Portland it's probably not the most savory but nothing to complain about. Go ahead I know your curious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank We_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islandgrill2013, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear We_living,

Thank you for such a lively comment! Indeed, having a walk in the Italian Gardens just across the street, could be a delightful finishing touch to the evening in Nipa Thai. We appreciate your kind words and we will welcome you back if you are here in London again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our dining experience started out well - the restaurant is situated in the Lancaster Hotel, a 4 star restaurant near Hyde Park. The decor was upscale and refined (and the prices reflected it).

Now to the food: We ordered soft-shell crab with mango salad, chicken pad thai, and the pepper lobster with rice. My partner and I both found the crab too-battered, to the point we tasted more batter than crab (On the other hand, the mango salad with nuts had a refreshing taste). The chicken pad thai was just too salty and the slices of chicken a bit tough. Really disappointed. And as for the lobster, the presentation was nice but the lobster was on the small side and not particularly flavourful.

I really wanted to rate this restaurant higher (the service was wonderful, and our waitress brought us hot towels - how can you beat that for service?) but the food ultimately let us down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank QBERT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islandgrill2013, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear QBERT2007,

We appreciate your honest and detailed feedback – we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food. Nipa Thai is aiming for the highest satisfaction with the experience for each and every guest in Nipa Thai and certainly, enjoying authentic Thai cuisine is a big part of it. Let us learn from your feedback. Should you decide to come back, we will be ready to meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We held a conference at the hotel in May and had a team dinner the evening before. We asked the waitress to recommend a meal for us as we are Thai novices. The waitress recommended we share a selection of different set menus, her recommendation did not disappoint.

The food was delicious and fresh; the service was flawless and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I will definitely be going back!

Thank CharleyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islandgrill2013, Manager at Nipa Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear CharleyMouse,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Nipa Thai on TripAdvisor. Our set menus are great option if you want to try a variety of our authentic dishes. We are delighted to hear that the service and food quality was perfect. We will share your feedback with our team.
See you soon again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nipa Thai also viewed

 

Been to Nipa Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing