We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party of 5 walked out”

Garrison Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Garrison Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,403 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$76 - US$76
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Transit: A 10 min walk from London Bridge and Borough overground and tube stations, as well as bus routes 381, 42, 78, 188, 1, 47, C10.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Party of 5 walked out”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Table had been reserved. Waited 25 mins. No menu, no drinks, no hello- despite there being at least 5 staff members milling around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    234
    102
    46
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great night last night. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent and atmosphere was lively. All in all a good night had!

Helpful?
Thank viddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We've been to the Garrison for drinks a few times as we live locally and it has always been so busy with diners so we decided to book in advance and give it a go for food. It did not disappoint!! The service is great, our waiter (Kyle?) was really attentive, gave good recommendations and the food couldn't be faulted. I had the crab starter which was fresh, simple and delicious and my boyfriend had one of the specials which on the day was deep fried smashed broccoli with truffled goats cheese, very innovative! My pollack and mussles main looked and tasted great! The wine list is reasonable and the atmosphere was fab as usual. You can always count on bermondsey street for a great meal and the garrison lived up to our expectations!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colourfulfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Mistake with the food order, dealt with it exceptionally well, enjoyed my visit. Would definitely come again - good food, drink and atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Profbuells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All is not what it seems”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Surprise visit after friends failed to get Into Jose over the road. At 4:14 we were told we could "sit anywhere" we liked and no time restraint we indicated. We ordered a bottle of Tattinger, which honestly was too warm..the problem is they insist on pouring at least 3 quarters of the bottle before you really find that out
. We ordered another and then thought better of it, so asked for a (very good) white.
15 minutes into the white (5:55) a sheepish, but polite waiter appeared at the table sliding the bill into the middle, explaining that he had been assigned the task of delivering us the bill - effectively turfing us out because "this table is booked for 6pm" We explained that come 18:20 we'd have better, more interesting places to go, and could we possibly stay to enjoy the wine that no one had minded us ordering in the first place. Having negotiated an extra 20 minutes we drank up and left a practically empty pub to the rest of Friday night. I hadn't noticed an atmosphere (good or bad) and if you want to know about the personality of the place, well, there was none.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garrison Public House also viewed

 

Been to Garrison Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing