We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managed a big group”
Review of Giant Robot - CLOSED

Giant Robot
Price range: US$22 - US$52
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Transit: Nearest tubes: Farringdon and Old St Nearest bus: Opposite bus routes 55 & 243
Description: Giant Robot is a brand new bar-café-deli-diner in Clerkenwell. We opened on 10 May 2010 and from now on will be serving brunch, lunch, dinner and drinks from 10am till late sevendays a week. If you like your lunch Italian, your brunch American, your dinner relaxed and your beer and cocktails icy cold, you’ll love Giant Robot.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Managed a big group”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

About 15 of us headed to the Giant Robot for a group lunch. They took our reservation and handled us quite well. The waitress dealt patiently with our slow ordering process and although busy the food did not take long to arrive.

The food itself was nothing special, however it wasn't bad either. The place doesn't really have that much of an atmosphere.

I wont race about this place but they did handle our big group pretty efficiently and kept us all fairly satisfied!

Helpful?
Thank JWC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    16
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great neighbourhood diner”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I'm a big fan of Giant Robot, having visited numerous times. The food is solid, if not spectacular, the brunch is great and is reasonably priced. The cocktails are wonderful, as you would expect from a diner whose stablemate is Milk & Honey. The round things off, the decor and atmosphere is excellent, and the service is usually good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but terrible food.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The location is great and also the atmosphere but the food is terrible. Apparently their specialty is meatballs but all you ca taste is onion.
I work in the area and I usually come here only when there is no alternative but it is never worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Igino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Sitting in this restaurant right now and had to write a review. Ordered 2 crab pastas, one large, one small. When they came out they were same sized portions served on different sized plates. The crab sauce was minimal at best and the pasta incredibly soggy and out of the packet, it basically tasted like chilli with some water. Although I was lucky enough to have a fair amount of shell in mine. When the book comes, there won't be any service charge paid, especially considering we are paying an extra £6 for a different sized plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryandone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

In area on business, visited late morning with colleague. Both had bagel with scrambled eggs & salmon. Very tasty with plenty of salmon. Great coffee with free top up. Good service and good value well worth a try

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giant Robot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing