We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth finding”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1,771 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Traditional English Pub serving lunchtime Bar Snacks
Devon, UK
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

15 of us (Morris Dancers) were in London for the Westminster Morris Day of Dance. Having first visited this pub 30 years ago, and knowing my colleagues were fond of good beer, I recommended The Red Lion for our lunch break rather than go to the Wetherspoons pub in Whitehall. I wasn't disappointed and neither were my fellow Morris Dancers.
Good selection of beers on tap (Fullers pub) which were obviously well looked after. The pub isn't big inside, so the 15 of us nearly filled it up, but that wasn't a problem for the staff and added to the atmosphere.
The menu offered a decent range of choices without having to take half an hour to read it and my fish & chips certainly hit the spot.
My fellow Morris Dancers were certainly happy with my recommendation and I am sure there will be some return visits next time any of them are in London.
The staff even joined in with an impromptu dance outside !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlion T, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Guys,

We loved having you here at the Pub, our customers really enjoyed your dancing, especially when you got the staff to join in.
We would love to see you back again next year !!!

All the best
Sara Bird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    69
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for a pint”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for years, a favorite when I worked in London. Despite a disappointment that they do not serve Strongbow I had as always a great time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ML W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good beer spoilt by grumpy rude staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The attitude of the supervisor towards his customer was poor, a rude and miserly man. Nothing more to say really, so many other good pubs within 5 minutes walk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlion T, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We pride ourselves on the great customer service our guests receive, so I am deeply disapointed to read your reveiw.
I would be very grateful if you would e-mail me more details regarding your experince so I can ensure this doesnt happen again.
I can only appologise to you and hope this wont stop you from giving us another go.

Kind Regards
Sara Bird
General Manager

redlion.mayfair@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Boozer's Boozer”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great after-the-office scene. Good beer, good atmosphere. Takes you back. Only thing missing is the cigarette smoke !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We came across this pub by accident as we had been to Fortnum and Masons and it is in the street at the back of the store. What an absolutely beautiful pub it is with gorgeous windows and mirrors. Husband also enjoyed his pint of London Pride. We met one of the regulars who informed us that this was just the very best pub in the whole of London. We agreed with him. He said that he would have liked to introduce us to the Landlady, however it was her day off so he was not able to. Would have liked to have met her to congratulate her on her beautiful clean pub. We will definetly make a point of returning to this pub next time we are in London.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlion T, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Im happy to know that my staff and regulars looked after you during your visit to the Red Lion, sorry I wasnt around to meet you, next time you pop in, send us an e-mail at redlion.mayfair@fullers.co.uk
And we will make sure you have a better time.
Kind Regards
Sara Bird
(Landlady)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing