We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chateaubriand. .and nice place”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Went there with friends on a Saturday for steak. Had delicious starters and marvellous chateaubriand for main course. Staff were pleasant and food great. No complaints. ...will return in the future!

Thank Liam1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 608 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very good place. Good steaks and good service. Unbeatable location and very good meet. Unlimited french fries. a little bit costy, though....

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quiquevivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Visited Rowleys for a pre theatre lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
2 of us had steak and one fish and no complaints at all. The steak portions are not huge but adequate by the time you take into account other courses and the unlimited chips!! Apart from the quantity of chips its very satisfying to have hot crispy chips right though to the end of the meal. Not that cheap but you pay for the location and the quality of the steak it top drawer. Also enjoy the history of the building which is the site of the first Walls butchers shop in London since 1894. The walls covered in superb original ornate tiles and a decorative ceiling. Great old English character.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCofEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Two couples who in London for the weekend.

We stayed at The Ritz, had afternoon tea, went to the theatre to see "Wicked" and cocktails in The Rivoli bar. Altogether a great time!

When we were looking for Sunday lunch on our morning stroll we bought cheese at "Paxton & Whitfield, 93 Jermyn Street" (worth a visit) we asked for advice on where to eat. Staff recommended Rowley's, as there are few restaurants open on a Sunday in the immediate area.

I agree with Joanna G's description and would add the restaurant is impeccably clean. We arrived just after midday. There were a few customers in but this changed quickly and there was a lovely buzz.

Our waiters were excellent and very helpful with info on food and wines.

So many restaurants I've visited have extensive menus, which, when food arrives, is disappointing. We all liked the limited menu here and when the food arrived we were not disappointed at all. It was excellent, two steaks and two chicken which followed good starters.

All washed down with a great white for the ladies and excellent red for the lads!

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Perfectly cooked steak, unlimited chips and a bottle of good claret - absolutely delicious! Quite a busy little restaurant that keeps things simple but of very good quality, great atmosphere in here, centrally located with easy access to the tube.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing