We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Last week was my first visit to Rowley's but it certainly won't be my last! From someone who eats steak a lot in London, I must say this is by far the most succulent entrecôte i've had in years! As if this wasn't enough the beautifully crisp french fries were unlimited - not that I could eat a second portion but it's always nice to have the option.

I will be recommending Rowley's to all of my friends and colleagues and look forward to returning very soon!

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Parnell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 601 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went for dinner and, overall, were very satisfied with the event. However, there were one or two small things which jarred: bread, which used to be simply part of the meal, is now charged, It was always pleasant to have the freshly-baked baguette while deciding what to order, but, alas, that is no more.

Overall, the food was good, though the presentation of the pate was a bit strange. It came on top of the serviette-wrapped toast that accompanied it! The steaks were of good quality and cooked as ordered. And, of course, the chips were plentiful.

All in all, a very pleasant evening.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Big_OLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived for dinner at 8pm and were seated immediately. We had the leek and potato soup with fresh bread. For dinner we had the fried cod and rib eye both were great. They came with a small lettuce salad and endless french fries and brownie with ice cream for dessert. Our waiter was efficient, friendly (we asked for extra glasses of ice for the water and Goose several times and it was served immediately) and knowledgable. We had 6 Martini's and 2 double Goose with cranberry. We had a quaint table. The restaurant was only 25% full so the server to customer ratio great and the decor was nice.
They have a back room (red room) which would be nice for parties or large groups.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NaplesDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was the second time we have eaten at this restaurant. The first time for a nice sunday brunch. This time for a dinner after work.

We had the best wine by the glass (A malbec) and it was really very plain for a £25 50ml carafe. We ordered chateaubriand cooked blue. When it arrived the meat was actually cooked medium rare (didn't send it back as they can't uncook it!). The meat was quite tough and served with salad which was just a few leaves.

When asked (after we had finished) the server was apologetic and told us we should have said something - but at £109 for a one course dinner for two I would have expected much more. Even the steak chains are better than this!

Date of visit: March 2014
1  Thank HenryL777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

London is so full of tradition and some places always stays the same, like Rowley's. It has been like this, in my case for more than 30 years, a steak and fries. I do appreciate the way they serve the steak place in small frying pan on a small burner just to keep it hot and comes with frie and salad.
Atmosphere is very nice.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eddie_thorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing