We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a wonderful find. They offer unlimited fries but the other food is superb. On the pricey side but a great place for dinner. They use burner trays to keep the dinner warm as you dine.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 570 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Was not overwhelmed by Rowley's. Overpriced without a voucher, and even then not really value for money. The unlimited fries seemed the frozen stringy sort, the unlimited salad was just leaves and dressing, nice Doom beer, but £6.50. The meat was good but not outstanding.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank AndrewA962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Been a few times over the years for lunch and dinner and really enjoy this restaurant, the location is a very civilised part of London, central but tucked away from the bustle. The food is good and unfussy and the French fries the best ever, as much as you like. The service is excellent and nothing too much trouble, family member ordered a complex cocktail drink with the meal!! and they produced it without fuss. The building has a great history so well worth visiting and I can highly recommend Rowleys.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 390DonnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went here for dinner after a trip to the West End and a few drinks on the way back. They don't have a vast selection on the menu which is great as you don't spend ages trying to choose what to eat. We both chose the house special for our main course: steak entrecôte which comes with endless fries, green beans and their own butter sauce. The food, service and whole ambience of the place is perfect. Not cheap but absolutely spot on. We'll be back on our next visit to London.

Date of visit: April 2014
Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had read a few reviews saying nice but over priced etc, so when a good voucher deal come my way, i thought we would give it a go. Some, lets face it most, restaurants treat voucher customers as second class customers, Rowley's did not, the service was first class and the food was superb. We go for meals expecting to be treated special, and that they Sure did, i bet you could get a cheaper meal elsewhere, but this place makes it special.

Loved the place

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mark h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing