We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, ambiance and service above average”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,610 of 27,214 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our group went to Rowley's to celebrate our last night as a team. Our table was ready when we arrived and the service was brisk. The ambiance is elegantly modern and it is quiet enough to hear each other for a dinner conversation. We enjoyed a lot of laughs. The lobster soup was rich and yummy; and I would have liked a lighter option for starters My steak was wonderful. All meat is served on a thick frying pan for keeping warm. It comes with frites. We also ordered the green beans and they were cooked just right. Others enjoyed their sticky toffee pudding for dessert. They were able to bring me a decaf cappuccino.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 576 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was invited to Rowley's last week for lunch, so I could hardly complain at the time.It was an experience bordering on the absurd.The menu seemed to rely on frozen chips as a prerequisite,
and yes they were overgenerous in their portions.The chicken pieces were dry as scorched grass; they had no flavour and needed a degree in mastication before oesophagal despatch; a plate of boring veg, was around £4.50.We shared one, some french beans I think,no comment.
All this was wrapped around the words, 'Old English'.Old English What? Thank God I wasn't paying the bill.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a wonderful find. They offer unlimited fries but the other food is superb. On the pricey side but a great place for dinner. They use burner trays to keep the dinner warm as you dine.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Was not overwhelmed by Rowley's. Overpriced without a voucher, and even then not really value for money. The unlimited fries seemed the frozen stringy sort, the unlimited salad was just leaves and dressing, nice Doom beer, but £6.50. The meat was good but not outstanding.

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank AndrewA962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Been a few times over the years for lunch and dinner and really enjoy this restaurant, the location is a very civilised part of London, central but tucked away from the bustle. The food is good and unfussy and the French fries the best ever, as much as you like. The service is excellent and nothing too much trouble, family member ordered a complex cocktail drink with the meal!! and they produced it without fuss. The building has a great history so well worth visiting and I can highly recommend Rowleys.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 390DonnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing