We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak & chips”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Impressive room with great location in central London, moments from Piccadilly Circus/Leicester Square. Limited menu, specialising in meat, especially steaks to share (chateaubriand or cote de boeuf), with unlimited fries, and they do it very well. Quite pricey, but good at what they do and excellent service. A more traditionally "English" feel than the south American steakhouses that have proliferated in London over recent years.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TopTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 495 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2015

As above, and a good wine list. All at reasonable prices for central London. We go there a lot. Friendly staff. Took four 4 month grandson(and his parents!) and they were most welcoming. Not always the case in London.

Date of visit: January 2015
Thank UKJmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I first ate at Rowley's 29 years ago when I met my husband and I have been a regular diner ever since. It's as fabulous now as it was then. Over the years I have introduced Rowley's to family, friends and work colleagues and they have never been disappointed. My 24 year old son is now a regular with his friends too!
I just love the steak with it's fantastic Roquefort butter sauce and those unlimited fries - yum! it's making my mouth water just thinking about it!
Can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

One of the few restaurants that sticks to its knitting and always delivers. If you want a great steak and chips (not to mention prawn cocktail starter) then Rowley's is the place. Great service, ambiance, location and all within walking distance of all the theatres.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We've eaten here 3-4 times now and the chateaubriand has always been sublime! The staff are very welcoming, there's a lovely ambiance and the restaurant is ideally placed for theatreland and Regent Street. My only niggle is that I would rather have unlimited salad with my steak - the fries are so delicious, it is hard to refuse a second helping! Treat yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manyhats2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing