We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch!”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

We were walking along Jermyn street and wanted a nice lunch. We stopped here and were extremely impressed! We started with the blue cheese salad to share and it is one of the best we have had. Everything was so fresh and tasty. Then I had the fish of the day, which was a sea trout. It was pouched with creamed spinach. It was so good I even at the skin! My wife had the Salmon which was also mouth watering. We shared a nice carafe of French Chardonnay that accompanied the fish perfectly.

For dessert I had the toffee pudding and it was warm and delicious. Finished with an espresso that was creamy and perfect way to end!

I would highly recommend Rowley's and will be back!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 419 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2015

This place clearly caters for tourists who will not return and neither shall I. The food was substandard for the price and the service was not great.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank 597DaleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Booked through travel zoo. Expecting a nice steak meal. Overwhelmed by innovation of the chef. Were first diners to try two new starters; delightful Perl Las blue cheese & walnut salad and Cannon & Cannon British charcuterie selection. Both emense! Chef came to explain heritage of cold cuts at the table. Followed by beautiful chateaubriand. Finally treated to sweet, bitter, salty, fantastic bombe dessert. Wow! Even went home with an extra special goodie bag of caramelised walnuts. Service was excellent as was the attention by the chef. Brilliant night
. Recommend to all that are interested in good food, wine, location and a unique experience.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

It's real clubland food, very run-of-the mill menu, but the quality of meat is very good. Mirrors & wood interior, very old fashioned, decent service, steeply marked-up wine list. Go here for good meat but don't expect any culinary elegance or invention.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnabelB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The food is good, the service is good, the atmosphere is good but the prices are horrific. Dinner for two of 2 fillet steaks, one serving of fries, one serving of spinach, 2 sauces (note: the sides and the sauces are all charged separately) and one bottle of mineral water came to £75 (service included). That's just too much. £27.50 for a tiny fillet steak (less than 200 grammes) on its own is absurd.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GeorgeC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing