We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I have often popped into Rowley's over the years for a steak frites after a bit of shopping on Jermyn street. So pleased to see that it is still excellent. Steak cooked to perfection, a sticky toffee pudding worth writing home about…a well-balanced wine list with plenty to choose from that goes well for any budget and mood. Service attentive and friendly.

Very pleasant experience. Only quibble would be to have crispier fries, though I am sure they would have done so had I only asked.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JJOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 373 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015

I have been a regular visitor to Rowley's for many years. Their signature Bifteck-frites is quite peerless. If you are looking for an outstanding steak in a friendly and uncluttered atmosphere then Rowley's is for you/

Date of visit: October 2015
2  Thank Wattsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Rowley's always has a certain "buzz" about it. The location and décor are excellent. Staff are attentive but not pushy. The entrecote steak with limitless fries is a must! I would have preferred are more comprehensive wine list, however the wine we selected was very good.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Yesterday, I went with a friend to Rowleys which is perfectly situated in the quiet road near Piccadilly Circus on Jerym Street. The restaurant itself was fairly nice although a little noisy at the far side with a posh bistro atmosphere but that's where the good points end. As we ordered the Chateaubriand steak with chips offer on Amazon which was a fairly good price at £40 for two people, despite the intricacies of it being served on a mini heated portable gas heater.The steak portion slices were small and it was a little cold and nothing really to shout about. The chips were served in small buckets which were nice but we didn't get any vegetables which were supposed be part of the deal. Even though we just had tap water, somehow we still had to pay £8 for service charge which was a little over the top even if it was good as they looked after us. I probably won't be going here unless it's an offer as most things were overpriced when you can get the same elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank guinnesslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

A delightfully simple menu majoring on steaks - sauces and the endless fries are a bonus. Delicious simple little gem sald and a fair wine list Berry's decent claret by the glass and carafe good value. Not the cheapest in town but charming service. Aall around good value for money

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank blackwater97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing