We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and Pudding”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We visited early afternoon and it was very quiet on arrival but it did liven up quickly as other diners arrived changing the atmosphere for the good. The steaks were delicious and the unlimited chips kept being offered. The puddings were divine and the wine list extensive.

The service was very attentive and friendly and the whole experience was very good.

Prices were good for central London.

It is good that the décor has retained its original style, a nice touch in these days of constant updating it is great as it is thanks.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travel2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 350 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2016

with the frequency of the discount vouchers winging their way into my mailbox from them no one needs to complain about the prices here, and the food is yummy. I always have the same thing, the chateaubriand with lashings of chips and a side of mushrooms. On my first visit i made the schoolboy error of eschewing the house sauce for some bearnaise but soon wised up to that. Lovely puddings and a beautiful room too. Long may it run.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 40prebend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Tad pricy for pre theatre - good atmosphere when it filled up. nice food had the steak - unlimited chips a feature but might have a different main course next time.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We never miss an opportunity to visit Rowleys when in London! Steaks are delicious, frites are crispy and flavourful, and the Claret always just right. Fish and chips during Lent are also a favorite. Also, get on email and they send discount vouchers!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drunkenhausfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This is the 11th or 12th visit to Rowleys and it might be the last.

This has been a must on every London visit, but the last few visits have jaded our enthusiasm somewhat.

The steaks are, as ever, excellent but the portions have reduced and the non steak courses are a shadow of the fare we placed our loyalty on.

On our recent more festive visit, the sprout side dish was truly awful, worse than my old school could manage. Again, the steaks are small by comparison of a few years ago. A quick look at a few old photos taken in 2011 reveal that.
And it is getting too expensive for what is Steak and Chips. We've found Michelin rated places in the same overall price range (without the marketing discounts etc. which we did not take advantage of) The discounts should not be an excuse for downgrading whether you are using a discount offer or not.

The desserts are pretty but not good. Nor is the coffee.

The service is always very pleasant. And the general environs lovely. But coupled with the quiet and audible ambience, it makes it very awkward for one to even quietly complain.
One does not want to make a scene and spoil the evening for other diners as well as our own guests.

As it is, one gets the feeling that the staff are under great pressure to cut corners and maximise turnover and that they are aware that it is not as good as it should be.

Maybe the owners want too much out of it, maybe London is becoming just to costly for such a place in this location. Either way something is wrong and the patron is the loser.

We really hope it gets straightened out a bit and returns to the great value place it was where the excellent all round quality of fare alone did the talking.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing