We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We've been here twice for the chateaubriand and both times it has been fantastic. Perfectly cooked, with unlimited chips! A nice selection of wine and I really like the atmosphere. The restaurant has some lovely original Victoriana details, making you feel like you're in a Parisian bistro. The place was buzzing and we sat at the back near the cute Victorian spiral staircase. The first time we went it was a bit quiet, which left us both surprised because the food was so good and the staff are attentive but not obtrusive. Overall great place to go in London and it's been there a long time so it's always good to support places like this in the ever growing world of boring chain restaurants.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank natalie1112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2016

We visited this Restaurant frequently five or six years ago but they pared the menu right down so that they served only steaks and endless fritters so we gave up going there. Recently we noticed that the menu had improved so thought it would be worth trying again. The menu is more varied than in recent years but they could do much better. Most people do not want as many fritters as you can eat but a bit of salad garnish on a first course or for example, a grilled tomato, mushrooms, onion rings etc would be appreciated with a steak. Apart from the rather scarce trimmings we found the waitress brusque, even perfunctory and the meal was far more expensive than it deserved to be.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Borntosew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The white bait starter was lightly battered with a creamy mayonnaise. Scrumptious. Our entrecôte steaks which were aged were perfectly cooked medium rare and kept warm on the table over a fire. The 2014 Syrah-Cinsault Kraal Bay complemented the steaks. The staff (Hungarian lady and Romanian gentleman) were very attentive and there was unlimited chips! The green beans were cooked to perfection French style. Compliments to the chef on duty.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 367karinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Good food. Classy interior. Limited menu options. But food is delicious.
Worth a visit if you are looking gor a good typish English food restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Tako F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We chose this restaurant as it was near to our hotel and we wanted to eat fish and chips. The staff were very pleasant and the fish & unlimited chips perfect! Their Eton Mess is to die for!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RosyPosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing