We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Lunch”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

This is a bastion of London & Piccadilly. A great Steakhouse that has not changed over the years bar say adding a gourmet burger and a vegetarian dish. Great steaks & service guaranteed. I shared a fabulous chateau briand & my guest had the house entrecôte with Roquefort butter. Plenty of fries offered & good carafes of house wine quaffed. Definitely worth a visit & will return again soon old friend.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank R2737RUtonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We booked for lunch but there was no need as the place was almost empty. It was, however, a Sunday lunchtime and I believe the place fills more readily for evening dinners. The staff were very pleasant and we were met with a smile which is always a good start. The restaurant is light and bright and the tables spaced for privacy. The menu is ideal for steak lovers but other options are offered. We ordered two fillets and one rib eye with a few extras. Unlimited fries are available with some dishes.
The meal was served quickly and the steaks were cooked to our liking and very tasty. There is a good wine menu and the carafe of Argentinian Malbec did not last long. As steaks go, we were happy with the quality of the meat and the three different orders were kept warm on a hot plate placed on the table.
Other facilities included a spotlessly clean toilet but this is located downstairs with steep steps.
I'm sure you will enjoy this restaurant and I will certainly visit again.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

What a great place to eat! We decided to dine at Rowley's to celebrate two 65th birthdays. We had a great evening. The staff were very pleasant right from the start and did everything they could for us. The food was excellent. Three in the party ordered steaks and they were all cooked to perfection. The waiter was disappointed that we did not take up the offer of unlimited fries but the first plateful was extremely generous and the waist line has to be considered.

Do try Rowley's. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank GerryGranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

My partner and I enjoyed a very good dinner here on Sunday night with two visiting Australians. Took advantage of the Groupon deal offering 42% discount. However, we did have one or two drinks and some very good wine, so it did turn out to be quite pricey once the 12.5% discretionary service charge of almost £40 based on the original value of the bill (which was clearly stated) had been added.
Having said that, the chateaubriand was well presented, cooked to perfection and simply delicious, staff was friendly and a very successful evening was had!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

If you're in the area and fancy a steak meal and don't mind it beng expensive and rather rushed then it would definitely be worth a visit. Our chateaubriand was £36 each with a salad and unlimited fries. We paid £20 for a carafe of house wine and one of us had a coffee, that's all. The total bill for the two of us was £106.82 and quite frankly for this sort of money I would personally rather have gone to somewhere less noisy (even though it was far from busy) with more relaxed service.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing