We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Great steak, great fries, great atmosphere - what more could a carnivore want? Rowley's is an institution and well worth a visit.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

great fish and chips and prawn cocktail good service this is solid restaurant for lunch or dinner they used to have a great breakfast!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank colonelkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a pre-theatre meal at Rowley’s and were very impressed with both the quality of the food and the service. The chicken livers, which we had to start, were incredibly tender and tasty. For the main course, we enjoyed chateaubriand. The steak was cooked to perfection - so succulent it simply melted in your mouth. As we had purchased a Groupon voucher, the deal included unlimited fries and a choice of side dishes (all of which were delicious). We were regularly asked if we wanted more fries so the service was excellent. Using the voucher meant that the chateaubriand was a reasonable price. We enjoyed all aspects of our visit to Rowley’s and can recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Dining with former workmates, we get together about twice a year. We're all carnivores with a penchant for fine red wine. And we are all getting harder of hearing, so echoey, noisy restaurants aren't a preference. I've dined previously several times at Rowley's and it still hits just the right note for quality perfectly cooked steak, cracking frites, low key but attentive service and a super wine list, sensibly priced - though you can go daft if you want.

Ambience great, plenty of atmosphere, but easy to chat and catch up. And we'll priced, no stretch for what we got.

So a whole-hearted thumbs up from me and my pals, and no doubt in 6 months or so we will be back

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Very good steak but pricey. Attentive but slow service. Side salad was boring - it was just lettuce leaves and croutons. We went there with a Travelzoo offer which I would recommend.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank trigirlsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing