We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,610 of 27,214 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Superb restaurant with great fish and chips (but pricey) and endless refills of chips.
Always go here with business clients and never disappointed. Never needed to book the staff are always accommodating.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ivorbigun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

I have been going here off and on for years. The food and ambience are both perfectly nice. On a recent family visit we used a pre-paid groupon voucher (sponsored by Rowleys) which gave a discount on the Chateaubriand part of the meal. That was fine - until the bill came. As usual the final item was a ‘12.5% optional gratuity‘. However at a quick glance it was obvious that it was far more. In fact it was over 27%. They had charged 12.5% on 100% of the original a la carte price, not even the discounted level which we had already pre-paid. But this was not mentioned when we arrived or on the bill, the gratuity was represented, in print, as 12.5%. My query was met with a shrug and “So? I don’t get any of it”. That surly response resulted in me refusing to pay any gratuity at all. Go by all means, it’s a decent place, but check your bill carefully.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank alisdair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We have been coming here for ages but not so much now we live abroad. On this occasion we had just got off a train and needed a quick warming lunch near our hotel. Rowley's is just down the street so perfectly situated. Nothing has changed: we greatly enjoyed the lobster & salmon fishcake and deep fried whitebait, followed by chargrilled fillet steak on its own burner with french beans, cauliflower cheese and 'unlimited' chips. Now we were warm at last! Rowleys has it just right - so good to know somewhere unchanged in an otherwise constantly changing world. Much recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We were four, meeting up on a Sunday evening for an annual pre-Christmas meal.
Loved the whitebait.
We had entrecote, cod, chicken, Christmas chicken etc..
Waitress reacted really well to knocking a wine glass over and onto me. She and colleague immediately brought things to wipe it up, water to dab my clothes and gave me the details to bill them for any necessary cleaning - not necessary in the end.
e will go again especially as we regularly stay locally.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoannaandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

First time visit after a theatre visit with family and great atmosphere and friendly staff. Great selection of food and wine. Will comeback as great position for shopping or theatre. Worth a try.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Hattie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing