We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old restaurant”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,610 of 27,214 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Rowleys has been around for quite sone time. It is located in old, historic premises on jermyn street. Original ornate tiles to walls. Very traditional decor. Intimate dining on this small restaurant specialising in beefsteaks. Tables have the crispest of large cotton white napkins! Staff ore lovely- efficient and friendly service for our pre theate meal of chataubriand which was cooked to perfection and left to rest, in pan, on a burner in the centre of our table.served with endless string chios and a garnish of water cress and tomato. Meat was so tender and excellent quality.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Kingpaul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

You have got to like meat to eat at this excellent little restaurant. It is a steak bar with a very interesting history (for the history, visit it), and does not pretend otherwise, but one would hesitate to give it such a bald name as "steak bar". That said, the meat is superb. Warm welcome, staff friendly and helpful, good menu. We arrived and after an excellent starter from a range including scallops, goat cheese, brilliant paté (which I chose - with toasted brioche), sat down to a shared Chateaubriand, veg and "endless chips". And I mean "endless". Good wine list, though it would be good to have a labelled "house wine" which is perhaps a little cheaper than the others but recommended by the establishment, (should I have asked?). We had a cheeky little "Good Ordinary Claret", which was much enjoyed. We also had the entertainment of a diner celebrating her birthday by singing "The minute you walked in the joint.." (In fairness she came round beforehand to check we would all be ok with her doing it.)
Thanks to staff for making this a very nice dinner and a very pleasant dining experience.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank DonaldPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a really nice chateaubriand, excellent chocolate bomb dessert and good wine...
Traditional setting and great service.
Highly recommend ;-)

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank G-Star-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

My wife and I invited her sister who lives in London for lunch. I had deep fried white bait as a starter. It was OK but would not order again. As the main meal we all had the famous chicken and unlimited 'fries'. Very good as were our desserts. The Wine list was very adequate

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I have been visiting Rowleys since 1993 and usually return for the excellent steaks and service. Last night we returned after receiving a 25% off food voucher. Well this visit left me really disappointed, The service was frankly terrible. Watching the head waiter (if that was what he was) leaning against the serving hatch, while our dirty plates remained with us for thirty mins was annoying. Perhaps we were unlucky with a bad night, but then at these prices you dont really want a bad night. The steak which was normally excellent, again was ok but not up to scratch there is better out there. So overall not good and we wont be returning for a while

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Razor-Ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing