We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

My husband and I had a lovely meal in this restaurant recently. We were an hour and a quarter late due to an incident on the train line we were using. I had the goat's cheese and beetroot salad which was amazing and my husband had the soup with bread which he enjoyed. We then had the Chateaubriand which was served medium rare and finished off to our liking at the table. As I adhere to a GF diet I was unable to have the cauliflower cheese which was replaced with green beans and we thoroughly enjoyed. I will definitely keep this restaurant in mind on our next visit to London. It was a great find. The restaurant is very clean, well decorated, quiet and the staff are excellent.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2018

Rowley's sells itself as a steak restaurant. If you are a tourist you have undoubtedly had world class beef. Don't expect that standard here. For London it is a decent steak with prompt service but it is not worth a detour. If you are a local and are peckish for red meat, then it is an acceptable source for the occasional steak. Salad is good; unlimited chips (french fries) if you are especially hungry. Decent wine (but not cheap)

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is located in the heart other London, few steps from Piccadilly. Ok but that can't justify 25 pounds for a plain simple chicken breast served with any dressings or sides.
Same for fried cod.
Then 8 pounds for a bottle of still water...
Goat cheese starter was delicious and reasonable price for 9 pounds.
Wine list is out of order....
Service is kind and professional. But it is not acceptable to wait more than 30 minutes for 2 chicken breast 2 goat cheese and 1 fried cod.
Avoidable... there are thousands of places better than this

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PCALGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

A very enjoyable visit, wheee everything was just right.
Tasty soup, perfect entrecôte steaks, fluffy light cheesecake.
And very importantly, the serving staff were attendant but not annoying and the whole evening was very well paced.
Fantastic decor.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank adamdogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Brilliant place, great food especially the steaks. Attentive staff. Lovely ambience. With good wine allow £50 a head.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing