We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateaubriand - truly scrumptious”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Dined here one lunchtime using a Travelzoo voucher which was for a chateaubriand to share along with fries and a side. The meat was cooked to our liking then served on a sizzling plate on the table. It was cooked to perfection and had no fat. Excellent. Would definitely return. The staff were charming.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Beware The 12.5 % service charge
Is not for staff - ignore it and leave cash !

Food and staff excellent .

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank trip07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

If you haven't tried Rowleys in Jermyn Street then you should. I have been going there since it opened over 35 years ago. Then is was only steak with unlimited green salad, fries and French bread...with delicious puds from a trolley. Now there is a full menu with everything for omnivores, carnivores or vegetarians! Excellent place for a family or friends celebration of a simple couples night out.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue66S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

It's been a good few months since we've been in London ----but we were thrilled to return.
Rowley's is so close to manyof the sites and stores. We had been to the Royal Academy of Arts for an exhibition. Once we had finished, we walked the 3 minutes to Rowley's.
Monika, the manager, greeted us like old friends and we were soon sitting in the window, watching the world go by and selecting our food & drinks.
My wife had the whitebait and I had the smoked salmon. Both were full of flavour... excuse me whilst I drool at the memory....
For our main course, we selected the Cote d'Bouef and a fillet steak. They came partly cooked on a burner so that we could select exactly how we would like them cooked. Also, there were fries aplenty and cauliflower cheese.
Everything was perfect.
To drink.... ah, yes.... two bottles of ordinary claret. It's always good.
As always, the restaurant was busy without being overcrowded. The noise level was fine ----there was no need to shout!
Oh, there is a loyalty scheme too.
Would we go there again? Yes, we hope to return in April.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crazymaddancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I can't say enough about Rowley (absolute gem)Second vist , and as good as ever. We had the chateaubriand and can not fault a thing , house wine is as good as any and the service is impeccable welldone Rowleys keep up the excellent work.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank caeleycae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing