We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Our second visit here with my friends, it was very busy but we didn’t have to wait for long time. Food was excellent and service too.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank irenar312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Two of us had lunch at Rowley's last Saturday.

Very little ambiance as the restaurant was empty which suited us. I have been when the restaurant is busy and the service was poor but this time it was attentive and efficient.

The steaks were excellent as was my green side salad.

However it was very expensive and not good value for money.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We still visit Rowley's as often as possible. Above all, the staff are wonderful - so friendly, helpful and they look after us all so very well. Then there's the chateaubriand, with unlimited chips.... mmmm!! Absolutely delicious. The restaurant itself was, I believe, originally the first Walls butchers shop, where George IV bought his sausages and there are lovely tiled walls.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I first ate at Rowleys as a student (a rare treat) probably 40+ years ago. The decor hasn’t changed nor the quality of the steaks! Don’t bother with the menu - its should steak all the way!
My only grumble - previously the fries were limitless for all steaks, now just Chateaubriand.
But while not cheap - steaks £28-35 - it is as worth the visit as it was 40 years ago!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank A6130FMtomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is a nice, reasonably small restaurant that doesn't really have any pretentions. I have been a couple of times and it is well known for its steak and endless fries main course. I am surprised at some of the negative reviews but I agree the staff can be aloof. However, it is in the middle of a major London tourist area so not too unexpected. Don't go expecting the Ritz, do go for a good steak (chateaubriand) meal and fries which are topped up on request. It's the sort of place a bloke would take his dad for a birthday steak meal! Also keep an eye on Groupon, as this restaurant appears every once in a while.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisp44UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing