We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular with Good Reason”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,528 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Our friend who had been here before joined us for lunch. It served more as our dinner as we ate well. The Entrecôte was excellent as was the Fish and chips. The sea bream fish of the day also was highly rated. Not cheap eats but worth the price. It’s also in a great location for shopping.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I have walked past Rowley’s a number of times and not really noticed it. This time we went in.
I had the rump steak, which was very tender and chips (unlimited). The steak is served in strips and is put on a gas plate, so it you don’t want your medium rare steak to become well done, rescue it!
The steak was very tender and tasty.
Very nice meal, with a nice bottle of Malbec.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AJMglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Our second visit here with my friends, it was very busy but we didn’t have to wait for long time. Food was excellent and service too.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank irenar312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Two of us had lunch at Rowley's last Saturday.

Very little ambiance as the restaurant was empty which suited us. I have been when the restaurant is busy and the service was poor but this time it was attentive and efficient.

The steaks were excellent as was my green side salad.

However it was very expensive and not good value for money.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We still visit Rowley's as often as possible. Above all, the staff are wonderful - so friendly, helpful and they look after us all so very well. Then there's the chateaubriand, with unlimited chips.... mmmm!! Absolutely delicious. The restaurant itself was, I believe, originally the first Walls butchers shop, where George IV bought his sausages and there are lovely tiled walls.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing