We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening eating chateaubriand.”
Review of Rowley's

Rowley's
Reserve with OpenTable
Rowley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,602 of 27,051 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$102
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus tube: 2 minutes walk. Green Park tube: 7 minutes walk.
Description: Not many restaurants have a loyalty scheme, which just goes to show how very loyal Rowley's long-time regulars happen to be. The room is traditionally British, but also informal and relaxed. The menu changes monthly, and always features Rowley's tremendously good char-grilled entrecote steak or breast of Sussex chicken with herb and butter sauce and endless chips. The trad Caeser salad is also terrific. Short, intelligent wine list and the sun-dried tomato chutney served with the cheese is just right. Great for business lunches, or pre- or post-theatre.
Reviewed 4 July 2018

My wife and I ate chateaubriand and fries on a Groupon deal and we enjoyed the experience. The steak was nicely cooked and the unlimited fries went down well. The meal was excellent value.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kts238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Three of us visited for a “special occasion” The service as usual was good without being over intrusive. The steaks were cooked to perfection and exactly as requested. The signature Chicken Supreme was succulent, presented with a wonderful sauce. The traditional Rowley’s Fries are simply the nicest I have ever tasted. All desserts were lovely although the Sticky Toffee Pudding was the preferred from our order. Wine was good although somewhat overpriced.
The atmosphere is always relaxed and informal although you get a feeling of being somewhere rather special. All in all a lovely place for lunch or dinner when in town.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hilarybuckhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Fabulous on all levels.

Nice friendly staff in a great authentic restaurant, located on Jermyn Street.

We ordered red and white wine, and our starters and mains.

I had a generous plate of very delicious salmon followed by mouth-wateringly tender and beautifully cooked chateaubriand.

Mains are served with endless chips (all you can eat, honestly) and we shared peas and beans as a table.

This was somehow followed by a chocolate bombe!! which was a chocolatey indulgence and also totally fabulous.

All washed down with a good brandy at the end, heaven.

This place understands food, what a great evening!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Clearlyspeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Great steaks and burger in quiet, smart busy restaurant located close to theatres and Piccadilly Circus.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank peterGtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Fabulous!! Beautiful venue, beaming with ornate tiles and character. Call me boring, but one thing I loved was that there wasn’t loud music blaring constantly!! Great wine list and the chateaubriand was delicious-especially with unlimited fries! No need to order a separate sauce, because it comes with a yummy garlic-butter. Fantastic service and worth every penny. Cheers to Rowleys!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lcr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rowley's also viewed

 

Been to Rowley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing