We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of Couscous Cafe

Couscous Cafe
Ranked #12,005 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$80 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We recently ate at the CousCous Cafe and loved it. Our mezza plate, tagine and brochettes were wonderful. The waiter was extremely nice. We'll be back next time we're in London!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RocketMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden restaurant capped off our stay in London”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

While heading to a different restaurant one night we saw this tiny unassuming restaurant and took a peek and the menu. It sounded amazing but was cash only and we didn't have cash on us that night. We came back on our last night in London and boy are we glad we did. We basically had the restaurant to ourself since it was late and a Wednesday night. The food was amazing. The restaurant, while small, is so unique and charming. When we come back to London we are going to be sure to come here again. A+!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guitaraholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Couscous Cafe is a hidden gem which you could walk past countless times and not notice - which would be a shame! Although the service is slow the food was very good.
One concern is it's no longer BYOB although on the website it says you can bring your own wine. You can't. I mentioned this to our host who said the website hasn't been updated for seven years so it's merely not current. He was very kind and we were all happy in the end despite the confusion.
I look forward to getting the opportunity to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LivingAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“We came back!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We ate here in May and again last night and really enjoyed it. This time we started with the mini Meze plate for 2 for an appetizer and loved it. Hummus was smooth and creamy and the pepper spread was very flavorful. For mains I had the royal couscous which was very nice and my husband had the chicken saffron pie (Bastille Bel Djej) which he has been talking about since the last time he was here and he was not disappointed. ...and the Moroccan mint tea was still all we remembered. I would not be surprised if we eat here again before we head home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
297 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Unassuming but hidden gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Great place for an authentic Moroccan meal. Good but limited menu which the wife and I have been through several times over the years. I recommend trying the Moroccan wines. Nice atmosphere as it is small, cosy and homely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfltd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Couscous Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Couscous Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing