We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Upstairs Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Upstairs Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I chose this restaurant as a birthday treat for my family. Having read rave reviews I thought it would be appropriate as French food is our preferred choice.

To start with we were placed at a very small table in the centre of an excessively heated
small room with speakers focused at the same point making it difficult to have a conversation. Diners and staff alike were squeezing past us the whole time making it feel very uncomfortable at having to lean and wiggle from side to side to let people through each time .

The food was A POOR EXCUSE FOR FRENCH CUSINE!! Cross the channel and eat in any one of the average bistros in Northern France and the cooking will surpass what we were served here. Pretty colours and droplets of puree do not make meal more appealing unless there is a high level of skill in handling the ingredients.

There was a very limited choice of desert so I opted for the cheese - wish I hadn't bothered I could have bought a better selection in the market.

I declined to pay the service charge because as far as I was concerned the whole experience was very disappointing and spoiled what should have been a happy event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wine and service!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have been living in Brixton for 3 years and have been waiting for an opportunity to try this place out and decided to book it for my boyfriend's birthday. I nearly cancelled the booking after reading some of the reviews below but I am SO glad I didn't!

We opted for the taster menu and despite previous comments, the portions were very generous and every course was brilliant. The wine was lovely too.

The service was great too, very attentive and informative. The hostess was lovely and she took a lot of time giving us recommendations of places to go out and eat in Paris when we go.

Overall, if you appreciate good food, good wine and great ambience then I would recommend Upstairs. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EForster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Here goes”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We almost cancelled the table of the basis that there have been some pretty savage reviews of late. However my girlfriend and I have lived in Brixton for 4 years and decided that if we don't go now (for my birthday) then we probably never will.

Thank god we ignored previous reviews, I thought it was fantastic. We were adamant that recent positive reviews were false and uploaded by the proprietors - if they were or now we will never know but our experience was superb.

We opted for the tasting menu, which was a sublime. Think it was £45ph for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts which I think was great value bearing in mind a la carte was £37 for three courses (albeit larger servings).

I won't go into each course but I thought the skill and balance of flavour on each plate was amongst the best I have had in London. Genuinely.

Basically, the service was functional, professional and inompressive. People who have complained before, remember that this is a French restaurant run by Frenchies, of course they won't tell you about their sister in laws brothers ex girlfriends new nephew. Also, in terms of small servings, it isn't Toby Carvery. Yes it is quite expensive but it is a small business and to make it work they probably have to charge that. You'd pay the same at Maze and Petrus for the same food yet you'd be paying the school fees of the children of a dirty faux Scottish tit in the process of dining in such an establishment.

Upstairs...we will be back (at some point)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djdando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hidden restaurant in Brixton”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We went to upstairs for a meal with my partner and although I do not normally write reviews for restaurants, I thought this restaurant really merited one.
The cuisine was imaginative, refine and the wines excellent.
The atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious, a fantastic place for a meal with friends or en tete a tete
The service was impeccable, discreet and the owners extremely welcoming.
Although the menu doesn't describe the dish completely (adding a bit of mystery and surprise), the waiter was at hand to explain exactly what all the ingredients were.
We will certainly be back and will recommend to friends, a hidden gem in Brixton!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dom l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable, the pork was fantastic. Would highly recommend this place. I will definitely be coming back.

Helpful?
Thank rodders72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing