We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Meal”

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar
Ranked #396 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$89
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: We serve the best Aberdeen Angus steak sourced from English farms accompanied by the highest quality service. Situated on the banks of the River Thames with views of the London Eye, there is no better location from which to enjoy your delicious meal. Our bar is open late and serves a mixture of classic and contemporary cocktails; a selection of over 70 gins and a wide selection of beers, wines, and spirits.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Meal”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a find - a quick google based on where we were staying and we came across Gillrays
What a wonderful restaurant - professional yet friendly. Extremely knowledgeable staff.
Fantastic food, the steaks were amazing. Managed to still have room for pudding (which was also amazing)
Thoroughly recommend a visit - and will be using any excuse to come and visit again
Now in my top 10 favourite restaurants

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Akliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    165
    85
    55
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Bar with Great views and fantastic cocktails”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a great afternoon in the bar sampling many of the cocktails, my favourite was GLC. Would highly recommend as the bartenders were good fun but professional. Also, loved the décor and buzzy atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“April Visit”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It was recommended to me, and I would have to say the food was quite good, but the service fell short, even for London. A great rib-eye, and the view over the river is wonderful, but I had to repeatedly ask for drink service, finally having a martini just as my steak was served. The piano player and singer in the lounge were great though. Worth going for, and I expect service would be better for 2 or more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temagami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, General Manager at Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Temagami,

I sincerely appreciate your review and the fact that you enjoyed the great views and the food at Gillray's Steakhouse. As you mentioned, this was a live music night and our bar was overwhelmed with visitors, which should have not affected our timely service.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls you encountered and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Theresa Maw- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Bartenders”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I cannot speak for the restaurant, as we didn't eat at Gillray's, but rather just drank at the bar everyday for our 4 day stay at the hotel. We had the best bartenders each night! I have to give a shout out to Francesco, who made me the most carefully crafted cocktail that included powder sugar dusted berries. Also, the bar manager, whose name escapes me now (sorry) was the best educator on gin. I feel as if I took a 3 day seminar on the history of gin and London. We honestly looked forward to seeing them each night in the bar. They also gave us great recommendations for other great bars to try out. There is a great camaraderie among mixologists in London. I would tell anyone traveling to London to visit this bar for a special cocktail... and ask for Francesco to make it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Utterly Delightful”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I reserved a table at this restaurant for myself and my family for mothers day and I have to say it was a really pleasurable experience. There was 6 of us in total including my 1 year old daughter. The staff were extremely friendly and professional. They provided a high chair for my daughter along with some pictures and colouring pencils to help keep her entertained which she loved. My father only drinks non-alcoholic beer which they didn't serve in the restaurant or bar but as they sold it in room service the waitress quickly collected us some and gave father had his own little collection of drinks at the table, which really made him happy. We all opted to have a beef Sunday roast which came with a complimentary glass of wine each. The food was plentiful and delicious. There was so much we couldn't finish it all. My husband actually said it was one of the best roast dinners he's ever had. They provided us with a children's menu for my daughter and she had a lovely little meal of chicken goujons with chips and carrots. There desert menu is simple yet effective. We had a few coffee's along with some ice cream and frozen yoghurt in a variety of flavours. Overall it was a beautiful restaurant in a grand hotel with beautiful views of the city and the Thames. I will certainly be returning and recommending this place!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola090912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing