We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food near the Shard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champor-Champor

Champor-Champor
Ranked #2,188 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$84
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Cross street: Snowsfields
Transit: We are located just three minutes' walk from London Bridge rail and underground stations. Take the exit to St Thomas Street and Guys Hospital. Turn left along St Thomas Street, opposite the Shard Building Site. Turn first right into Weston street and we are located 150 metres along on the left directly opposite the Greenwood Theatre.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Tasty food near the Shard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I went here with 4 friends and my son. We didn't make it easy for the kitchen as we all ordered different starters and main courses. Comments included tasty, yum, spicy, excellent etc. We were all very satisfied. It is a bit of a quirky place and I understand some of the comments about the décor and cleanliness. However the service was very good and we thought it was good value for money given the location. The wines we chose at about £21/22 were perfectly OK. Total cost here is about £50 per head including service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    134
    58
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Thai Restaurant with Italian flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Why are Italians the best waiters/waitresses? We ate at this Thai/Malay Restaurant near London Bridge and were received by smiling Italian waitresses and were advised with acute knowledge and professionalism what to eat. Ideal for those that don't know oriental food. You tell the waitress what you wish to eat and she selects the right dish.
Not to mention the detailed explanation on how it is prepared!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martino56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet business lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Went for a quick business lunch. Pleasant environment and very quiet at that time (12.30 ish). Food pretty good but nothing exceptional - then it's good value for a sit down right by London Bridge. Would be interested to try again for dinner and sample something more than the green curry.

Helpful?
Thank goingaway_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was searching for restaurants around London Bridge to meet with a friend for a catch up and found this one and because of the good reviews on here we decided to give it a go. That was a mistake- would not recommend it to anyone.
It is dark and quite depressing in there, a bit shabby and tables are squashed in next to each other; service was bad, waiters hardly ever came to our table;
what a rip off as well!! cocktail choice is a joke (like 4 cocktails available)- went for the pink kimono that is over 8 pounds and it was served in a small prosecco glass...as for the food:

- crispy crab starter: soggy greasy batter and bland
- duck satay starter: skin was not crispy at all so had to chew on fatty tough pieces of meat
- snapper main: nothing special at all- lots of bones in fish and pasta was bland, just tasted a bit lemony
- green curry chicken main: that was flavour wise the only good thing- tasted very nice; however I understand something different under curry as this was chicken served with curry sauce on the side...rice u have to pay extra and it came in a tiny bowl and 10 min after the chicken

So over all not a great experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinchenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Had a business dinner in Champor-Champor and I really loved it. We got a table in the basement which is a nicely decorated little space. The dishes were nicely presented and delicious. Everyone loved it. Definitely will visit again with friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Cyprus28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champor-Champor also viewed

 

Been to Champor-Champor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing