We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Bugis Street Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Bugis Street Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #955 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$66 - US$66
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Hugely popular both with locals and visitors, the Bugis Street Brasserie is situated in the luxurious Millennium Gloucester Hotel in London���s upmarket Kensington. This comfortable and chilled out bistro styled dining room is probably the most relaxed dining choice the glamorous four star Millennium Gloucester has to offer and, as such, it appears to have the most diverse crowd, ranging from businessmen with loosened ties to hungry tourists fresh from the sights and, of course, Kensington���s notorious ladies who lunch, putting their Louboutins up over dinner. The Bugis Street Brasserie is decorated in a neutral colour scheme, with tiled flooring, wood panelled bar and ceiling fans evoking an almost American feel, while service is (it perhaps goes without saying) of the very highest standard, both friendly and professional. Known for its Cantonese and Singaporean food, the Bugis Street Brasserie provides a sophisticated but authentic Eastern cuisine, served in a setting very different from the usual Asian restaurant.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is my second time going back to Bugis in a few years, and I can remember the food tasting the same as my first trip, which was very good. The place was crowded as usual, but had not problem getting a table. Service was attentive, and food was delivered quick. Again, the taste of the food was good, and no complaints. I would definitely recommend Bugis Street. Happy Travels !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    135
    29
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very Average Across The Board”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Situated in South Kensington in the Millenium Gloucester hotel, this restaurant is conveniently located one block from the Gloucestet Road tube station.
The dining room holds about 75 patrons and the decor is lightly Asian. We stopped in for an early supper. We were greeted instantly by an Asian server who was correct but reserved. The atmosphere is that of a corner restaurant with Chinese music necessary to remind you that this is an Asian restaurant.
We ordered the Peking assortment of dishes. The soup was spicy, had plenty of tofu and a few shrimp in it. It was gelatinous and ok.
The main courses included tasty sizzling black bean beef, very dry inside and out crispy duck with little taste, nice shrimp in a sauce which seemed like a mixture of ketchup and plum sauce and very good egg fried rice.
The dessert was 5 nice canned lychees with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It was the best part of the deal.
All of this for 20 pounds sterling per person.
The service was adequate.
This meal was uninspiring but adequate.
If you expect little, you will be satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 432JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick bite in wee hours”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Service was excellent and efficient, food was not too bad. Try the fried rice or the hainanese chicken rice. But avoid the beef noodles.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok , nothing special”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Located adjacent to millennium Gloucester hotel, reasonably priced and good food, wouldn't rush back , it was a normal Chinese

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I visited this place for the promise of South East Asian food. Alas, I was disappointed. While the food was ok, it was nothing more than average and frankly nothing that my local Chinese takeaway could not have done. I would give this place another go on the promise of the other dishes (would like to try the Hokkien dishes), but I was not impressed this time and so will probably not visit again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank disgrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bugis Street Brasserie also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Bugis Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing