We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird experience with great food”
Review of Dans Le Noir

Dans Le Noir
Ranked #369 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$126
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Located in trendy Clerkenwell, the novel concept behind Dans le Noir is to re-think the notion of taste by serving your food in complete pitch darkness. The eclectic menu is designed to maximise such heightened sensory awareness; instead of listed dishes, there are surprise menus with omissions to suit different tastes (such as vegetarian). Blind staff serve and guide diners in the main restaurant, with a lit bar and lounge for ordering and pre- or post-dinner cocktails.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weird experience with great food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When you first walk into the dark room, it is very unreal and you totally put your trust into your waiter. Once you are seated it does take a while to feel comfortable. Our drinks arrived quickly and we chose the meat menu. The starter arrived quick after. In fact everything is very well organised and the service is brilliant. Once we was finished, we were led outside and tried to guess what we had just ate. We were totally wrong but everything was delicious. It was quite expensive but as a whole experience it was great. I have wanted to try this place for years and I am pleased that we have, but it is not a place I could experience time and time again. I do recommend this experience as a whole if it's something you have wanted to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank m0rgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    512
    207
    92
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food in a whole new 'light'”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is everything to love about this experience and all the better when you do it with friends. We laughed like kids from start to finish. A normal sentence takes on a whole new meaning when said in complete blackness :-)
The service was faultless and the food delicious. Had we been on a game show we would have lost miserably as we didn't fare very well when asked at the end did we know what we ate. But that made it all the more hilarious.
Would definitely go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

As others have commented it is pricey, but yes its definitely worth it! We had a great waiter called Simon, super service and a great help! The dining experience was completely different to anything I had experienced before!

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive but unique”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's pricey but there is no dining experience like it! Our blind waiter was really friendly and helpful. Just trying to eat in the dark was actually quite challenging but that's what makes it fun. Definitely a novel experience so don't go if you just want normal dining.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the experience!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When walking into the dining rooms, it's a real shock, as it's quite loud in there and you completely rely on your waiter, it’s almost a bit scary! Our water was lovely and he later on joked that he was serving us a labrador guide dog. Just a small warning, if you are squeamish about some foods, it’s probably best to order the vegetarian surprise menu, as I ended up having some very interesting meat dishes on my plate, which I would not have eaten if I had known what they actually were! Overall, still amazing experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dans Le Noir also viewed

 

Been to Dans Le Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing