We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian restaurant, go upstairs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Caldesi

Caffe Caldesi
Ranked #2,535 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$62
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Description: Specialising in regional Italian cuisine, Caffé Caldesi in Marylebone is an ideal place to pop into for a cappuccino, a glass of wine or an authentic Italian meal in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Caffé Caldesi searches out traditional and lesser-known recipes from all regions of Italy. The staff originate from all over Italy and their experiences are maximised to their potential in the kitchen, so you will be sure to find and enjoy food that's just to your tastes. Visit the restaurant on the first floor for a hearty home-cooked Italian meal or a bowl of pasta in a formal environment. Meanwhile, the lively ground floor bar is a friendly destination, ideal for meeting up to enjoy a casual lunch.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant, go upstairs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A great, true Italian restaurant in Marylebone. Locals only, as it is on a small side alley. Great Italian staff and owners, food is outstanding and close to all the best of central London. Only thing is the strong airco, that unfortunately doesn't prevent you being a bit smelly of garlic .... but I go again and again ....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iveldhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    105
    37
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy in Marylebone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Caffe Caldesi one of Marylebones many great restaurants serves lovely authentic italian food.
This restaurant have two menus, the bar/ground floor and the restaurant/ first floor.
So far I have only tried the bar menu which offers a great variety of dishes.
Il pollo al limone (panfried chicken breast with lemon sauce and spinach) is my latest found love however not to forget Le Linguine Caldesi is an old favourite of mine and my husband, a very simple looking pasta dish but wow what a great plate of food, it will definitely leave you with a comforting smile by the end of the meal. Almost forgot to mention L'antipasto of meat and Il Fritto Misto two great platters, enough for two to share one, which ever you choose you won't be disappointed!
If you happen to be in the area and want to experience good food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, then you should definitely visit Caffe Caldesi.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Good food in pleasant surroundings on a quiet street. A popular place but let down by the grasping owners. £52 for two primi platti plates of pasta and two glasses of house wine. Not worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Saggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ate here with an old friend who had arranged the booking.
Boy, we were not disappointed! I'd go as far as saying this is one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever eaten it. Portions just the right size so we were able to enjoy all the courses, staff friendly and very courteous and the general ambiance just great.
Only wish I lived in London and could visit more often!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cityfan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Extraordinary coffee and dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I only visited this restaurant for a coffee and dessert, but it was a very enjoyable experience. The espresso was superb and my innovative "tiramisu in a jar" was to die for!

I saw many other entrées being served in the cozy corner restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone who is longing for a dining experience out of the ordinary!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Caldesi also viewed

Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Caffe Caldesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing