We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious and fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homage at The Waldorf Hilton

Homage at The Waldorf Hilton
Ranked #4,347 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$31 - US$56
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Afternoon Tea at The Waldorf consists of a mouth-watering array of delicate pastries, homemade cakes and scones with clotted cream and strawberry preserve. Diners can indulge in some luxurious champagne and choose from a wide range of distinct blends of tea, imported by specialist tea suppliers from around the world. The Waldorf, known as The Waldorf Hilton since January 2004, has an illustrious history and rich heritage dating back to its opening in 1908. Set in the heart of London's theatre land, close to Covent Garden, the hotel has attracted a string of stars from all over the world. Gertrude Lawrence, Sir Thomas Beecham, Elizabeth Taylor, Pavarotti, Pierce Brosnan and Dame Judi Dench are just a handful of show business icons that have stayed at the hotel. Open on select Sundays, Palm Court is the spacious, elegant and versatile heart of The Waldorf Hilton. It features an historic, impeccably styled interior, with fabulously restored balustrades lending an air of chic decadence and sophistication. Afternoon Tea Dance offers contemporary afternoon tea with a variety of finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones with Devonshire clotted cream and strawberry jam, delicate homemade pastry cakes and choice of many teas and infusions, a frothy cappuccino or a black coffee. A live 5-piece band will entertain with all the ballroom classics, while guests dance away on a Sunday afternoon in the historical Palm Court. All this is available for £49.00 per person only.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious and fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went here for a date with my partner and wanted a change of venue and something special: this was definitely special! You greeted by the doorman of the Waldorf and walk through a suave bar with grand piano to walk into a dining room with ivory decor enhanced by gorgeous chandeliers.
The waiter was polite and courteous, giving us time alone but not too much so we were looking for him to take our order. The food was really really good: portions a bit small but with side dishes (that are reasonably priced!) you end up pretty satisfied. Definitely a place to go for special occasions and I will go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    131
    95
    76
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Service is terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The service at The Homage is disgraceful; an embarrassment to The Waldorf name. It's a shame because the food was excellent. The waiters did not seem to know anything about the menu. We had to ask staff more than 4 times in order to get any drinks. The waiter did not offer bed rolls to all at our table for 4 and indeed one person gave up asking after the third request for a roll to accompany her soup. The waiters were very concerned with laying fresh tables and completely oblivious to the needs of the diners in the restaurant. I love staying at the Waldorf in London ... But Homage I won't be back. The quality of food does not outweigh such terrible service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pijnacker
Level Contributor
207 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Homage has a very nice surrounding. When you don"t want to sit inside you even can sit on the side of the ballroom. The breakfast is to my opinion fantastic, and the staff is renewed. For I remember from a year ago some who were not so friendly are not there anymore. Just arrived is mr. Postma from the Netherlands and he knows the way of friendlyness to the customer. So, do visit this fantastic surrounding !!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sabai77Pijnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked a 3 course meal + wine deal - food was good, nothing interesting. It came out fairly quickly so it had all clearly been premise and heated up before being served. Service was very slow: had to keep asking to get refills of water and wine, had to wait for quite a while to get menus and cheque. A couple left in anger during our meal as they had been waiting for a very long time before they got served. When we paid we clearly asked them to split the total without adding the discretionary service charge, this was not done and the waiter said he hadn't realised that we'd asked him to do this so we had to spend some time explaining it all to the manager before they redid the bill, although the waiter refused to accept he'd made a mistake. In general while we thought the food was alright, we thought the service and atmosphere was very nonchalant and not what you'd expect from a well respected hotel. I suppose you pay for what you get and they probably don't put too much effort into attending customers who come for these deals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anna-kesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Corporate Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Lunch was well served by attentive staff although there seemed to be a long wait between starter and main. The food was presented well and well cooked if a bit heavy for a lunch meal (steak). The court yard is a great venue for a working lunch although it can get quite noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Homage at The Waldorf Hilton also viewed

 

Been to Homage at The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing