We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special deal meal”

Homage at The Waldorf Hilton
Ranked #4,313 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$33 - US$59
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Afternoon Tea at The Waldorf consists of a mouth-watering array of delicate pastries, homemade cakes and scones with clotted cream and strawberry preserve. Diners can indulge in some luxurious champagne and choose from a wide range of distinct blends of tea, imported by specialist tea suppliers from around the world. The Waldorf, known as The Waldorf Hilton since January 2004, has an illustrious history and rich heritage dating back to its opening in 1908. Set in the heart of London's theatre land, close to Covent Garden, the hotel has attracted a string of stars from all over the world. Gertrude Lawrence, Sir Thomas Beecham, Elizabeth Taylor, Pavarotti, Pierce Brosnan and Dame Judi Dench are just a handful of show business icons that have stayed at the hotel. Open on select Sundays, Palm Court is the spacious, elegant and versatile heart of The Waldorf Hilton. It features an historic, impeccably styled interior, with fabulously restored balustrades lending an air of chic decadence and sophistication. Afternoon Tea Dance offers contemporary afternoon tea with a variety of finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones with Devonshire clotted cream and strawberry jam, delicate homemade pastry cakes and choice of many teas and infusions, a frothy cappuccino or a black coffee. A live 5-piece band will entertain with all the ballroom classics, while guests dance away on a Sunday afternoon in the historical Palm Court. All this is available for £49.00 per person only.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“special deal meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we bought the 3 course deal dinner and drinks for 33 pounds a head, having read other reviews we were expecting the worst, however this was not the case.
the service was quick and efficient, in fact so quick we were in and out in just over the hour, our menu was ok and had good choices on it the starters were small and quite bland, I had the duck and my wife the salmon, soon after the mains came and was very tasty although no offer of a selection of veg , the lamb and pork belly was very nice, sweets were popped on to our table soon after that which again were a bit bland.
overall I would not visit again as nothing to say this was special but the food and restaurant were ok, 5 star , not sure except for prices in the bar, 2 spirits with mixers 22 quid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    134
    97
    78
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here after a visit to the theatre to celebrate a friend's special birthday and it was a perfect end to a perfect day. The staff were all extremely professional and had just the right balance of being friendly but not overdoing it. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and very reasonable for London. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Homage restaurant”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this venue as part of the 30 pound 3 course meal offer. Service friendly and efficient. However found the food to be excellent. Had the lamb while my partner had the pork belly. Both of which was superb in taste and quality. All in all good value for money

Helpful?
1 Thank Ware63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Homage offers afternoon tea. Less crowded than the Ritz but the room is a bit dingy and the staff seem fixated on preparing for the later dinner service than serving afternoon tea. This lack of attention makes an expensive treat too expensive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We each had the Duck as a main course and it was as good as we've had anywhere. Add to that the restful décor and friendly service it made for a memorable dinner that we'd be happy to repeat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Homage at The Waldorf Hilton also viewed

 

Been to Homage at The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing