We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting, but food and service disappointing”

Homage at The Waldorf Hilton
Ranked #3,027 of 22,671 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$32 - US$57
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: Afternoon Tea at The Waldorf consists of a mouth-watering array of delicate pastries, homemade cakes and scones with clotted cream and strawberry preserve. Diners can indulge in some luxurious champagne and choose from a wide range of distinct blends of tea, imported by specialist tea suppliers from around the world. The Waldorf, known as The Waldorf Hilton since January 2004, has an illustrious history and rich heritage dating back to its opening in 1908. Set in the heart of London's theatre land, close to Covent Garden, the hotel has attracted a string of stars from all over the world. Gertrude Lawrence, Sir Thomas Beecham, Elizabeth Taylor, Pavarotti, Pierce Brosnan and Dame Judi Dench are just a handful of show business icons that have stayed at the hotel. Open on select Sundays, Palm Court is the spacious, elegant and versatile heart of The Waldorf Hilton. It features an historic, impeccably styled interior, with fabulously restored balustrades lending an air of chic decadence and sophistication. Afternoon Tea Dance offers contemporary afternoon tea with a variety of finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones with Devonshire clotted cream and strawberry jam, delicate homemade pastry cakes and choice of many teas and infusions, a frothy cappuccino or a black coffee. A live 5-piece band will entertain with all the ballroom classics, while guests dance away on a Sunday afternoon in the historical Palm Court. All this is available for £49.00 per person only.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice setting, but food and service disappointing”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I liked the feel of the room, it is old-style in a nice way, with appropriate music, and it's quiet. But looks are not enough. The service was not warm and friendly, staff felt impatient and as if they didn't care. The food was uninventive and lacked flavour. The starter was minuscule. The broccoli as part of my main was still nearly raw when served, but the gnocchi was nice and the cheese course was nice. I won't go back to the restaurant with so much choice on offer in London!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DutchCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    137
    97
    78
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Faded glory with very poor service and food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrived on time but waited 5 minutes in doorway while table laid
It then went from bad to worse
15 minutes later our table of 4 were given the menu as we we were considering leaving.
Starter goats cheese with figs was a tiny, tasteless portion.
Main course were in edible pork chops.
We were only asked if we wanted wine after our starter and the service was the worst I have ever encountered as it was non existent
I had better food in the motorway services on route to London
There are far better places to eat where you will be welcomed and served with tasty edible food

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drtravelinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent. Fixed price menu.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked fixed menu for 3 courses and 2 glasses wine inclusive. Really enjoyed the food and staff and service were excellent. Presentation of food and taste very good. We paid extra for ribeye in main.

Waitress even reminded us that we had only glass of wine and promptly brought second glass.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimPaulIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a table at the Waldorf for a very special evening dinner. When we arrived 1/2 early we waited for someone to seat us, we probably waited about 10 minutes. When someone eventually came and we explained that we were now 20 minutes early she asked us to go away and come back at our allotted time. Hard to take when the restaurant was only 25% full. We were sent to the bar and can only think that was to ensure that we had to buy another drink and add to their profits. The drinks were nice enough but not exceptionally considering the price.

The 3 course meal that we had was distinctly average and more in keeping with a 3 star hotel, quite a surprise. I had a warm smoked salmon salad and it was quite tasteless. I followed this with the sea bass, which was overcooked, sat on on vegetable medley of which the cabbage was too tough to cut, let alone chew. The cheeseboard however was lovely, definitely the best course. The service was slow and indifferent.

So have I had a 5 star London hotel experience? definitely not. Would I return? definitely not.

If you want a 5 star meal experience in London go somewhere else.

    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Before seeing Miss Saigon we had tea here -except it was lunchtime lol-half-price with an Amazon local voucher-an unwelcoming arrival as we were too early and were sent away with no idea of where to wait so seated ourselves in lounge where we were totally ignored by any passing staff. Although I had given the voucher code over the phone on booking the maitre'd needed to scan it from my phone which took several minutes to find with their slow internet connection---eventually she was happy to get on with seating us but even then we had to insist on a table with 2 proper chairs not a banquette against a wall-felt like a poor and fussy relation at first but later the service improved and was friendly enough. Rveryone else had champagne with their tea we weren't even offerered it as an upgrade to pay extra -they missed a marketing trick there as I'd have loved some !
On my way to ladies I spotted a half open door and beyond was the sumptuous ballroom -so beautiful but all empty---why were they not using that to seat us instead of the Homage room which was a little dark at the back of the hotel with no views out of windows--oh they said that's only for special events and when the restaurant is full with bookings at busy times they open up that magnificent room next door-which would have been LOVELY.
Anyway tea and food then arrived which was all delicious and we were offered more sandwiches and so on---waiters very nice and looked after us well and a harpist came and entertained us so alls well that ended well

I think myself lucky to go anywhere like this on a special occasion
normally its Costa with a chipped cup ha ah a

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica-R-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Homage at The Waldorf Hilton also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Homage at The Waldorf Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing