We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't even describe the deliciousness! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagar Vegetarian Hammersmith Restaurant

Sagar Vegetarian Hammersmith Restaurant
Ranked #2,465 of 22,019 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Description: We Sagar chain of Restaurants in London for the past Ten years.Our chefs are from Udupi, a small town in the coastal region of the Western Ghats, about 360km from Bangalore in karnataka. At a famous temple there is an idol of Lord Krishna richly adorned in jewels. The town is a knowledged centre for authentic South Indian Cuisine. Udupi chefs are renowned for the cooking of the traditional South Indian Vegetarian food. Sagar is a Restaurant that is recognised as a breaking new ground in the presentation of South Indian Vegetarian dishes, including some which are new to this country. Also we are specialised in cooking (gluten)wheat free, nut free, vegan, no onion no garlic
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't even describe the deliciousness! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here with hubby and also with friends. Oh man. The food is out of this world. The paneer, the Chickpeas, fresh warm naan and roti. Amazing service. Very professional, very clean and organised. Please go and try it. We go to the Hammersmith one. There is also one in Covent Garden.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Nikita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    90
    22
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
566 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

India is a country where you can get fantastic veggie food, so no surprise that the food is very good. What's more odd is the atmosphere. At one stage they were playing just terrible elevator music, which really was strange, out of place and didn't work. By the end they were at least playing Indian music, but this is a matter of fact place, with no cosiness and not much decor. The service was adequate, but only so. I wanted an Indian style salad and was told that the most traditional they had was a very plain mixed salad. Nonsense, and I asked twice as I just couldn't believe it, but I had it anyway in the end.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“An extraordinary vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Sagar (Hammersmith, W6 9JT) by pure coincidence. None of us is vegeterian although our familly do generally appreciate a predominantly vegetarian content in a meal. We decided to give it a try. The personel in the restaurant was warm and welcoming, the restaurant clean and cosy. Since we weren't familiar with any of the dishes, the waiter named Gopal kindly introduced the menu to us and recommended a selection of dishes. All the dishes, without exception, were extremly well prepared and delicious. It was a trully novel and great gastronomical experience. We left the restaurant happy and inspired.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favourite Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is my favourite Indian restaurant. I first came here after having read multiple reviews about how good it was and it was very close to my old house. I have now been multiple times with different people. Each time we have visited, I have been the only vegetarian and everyone has really enjoyed it regardless. The food is also very reasonably priced. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBurditt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great masala dosa!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a really nice place for dinner, with very good veggie food. The dhal was one of the better ones, but the real highlight was the masala dosa, which was one of the best I've had in London.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sagar Vegetarian Hammersmith Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sagar Vegetarian Hammersmith Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing