We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Beiteddine Restaurant
Ranked #14,585 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$86 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Belgravia
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I really enjoy Lebanese food on our visits to London. We just haven't found it as good in the States. Beiteddine was really terrific. We often stay at a hotel in nearby Knightsbridge and happened into Beiteddine late on after a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. We were hungry and would have settled for a lesser meal but we were treated to friendly and attentive service and some really flavorful and tasty food. All the basics here with great hummus, salads, lamb. All really well prepared and fresh. Any negative reviews all seem to relate to the failure to honor discounts and don't be deterred as our experience was our top London Lebanese and we've been to five different ones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobNYCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    7
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

At the time of booking the restaurant confirmed The Times discount of 25% on food and wine.

On arrival the restaurant denied all knowlege of The Times discount scheme. We argued. The manager then said it didn't apply because we hadn't told them about it at the time of booking. We argued. They then grudgingly seemed to accept it.

The service was perfunctory and rushed, bordering on rude. The restaurant was not busy. They just didn't seem to care.

The food was fine, but the two main courses (total £36, billed as six skewers) arrived as a few small cubes of meat on one plate hidden under salad and bread, with the starters and looked like half portions.

The bill arrived and only applied the discount to the food. (The Times deal is 25% off food and wine, or 50% off just the food). The service charge added was not discretionary, was 15% and was applied to the undiscounted prices: for the aggressive service we received. There was also a cover charge (something I've not seen for years). At this stage we didn't bother arguing: it was late, the restaurant staff had a pushy air about them and we were keen to just get out.

We spent £45/head. Afterwards we could not reconcile this to what we had ordered.

Overall we got the strong impression we were not welcome and only tolerated because they could load-up the bill with all the extra charges. I expect most of the customers are from the local hotels and know no better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TimNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant ever. Did not honour the 50% discount off bill as promoted. They only treat Lebanese origin customers nice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I went to this restaurant Friday, 4th October 2013 with my friend after work in the evening. Since we both have taste cards, we crossed checked both online & by calling the restaurant directly about the advertised ,50% off the total bill. The restaurant confirmed that was fine. We went in the restaurant, the welcome greeting from the waiter was very poor. So we sat down and thought to ourselves lets just give the food a try before final judgement. The restaurant was not busy, they made us wait almost 20 minutes before coming over to take drink and starters orders. While sat down and waiting for waiter to acknowledge us as customers, he was instead welcoming new customers that were Lebanese by origin. This is when we realised the change of character, he was much more friendly with them, they food and drinks came before ours and we were just ignored. Ounce the food came it was average, starters were not warm enough and main course lamb was over cooked and chicken sharwama was plain. We definitely were not impressed. Then at the end we got the bill which was high, we questioned him about the 50% off, he argued that he already done it. This was a lie, me and my friend paid £21 each for what should have been 14 each maximum.

we felt completely cheated. So my advise is don,t go to that restaurant unless you are Lebanese by origin. West experience ever.

Emma from Knightsbridge

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank hairperfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food; delightfully off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were desperate to find some reasonably priced but delicious food in the Harrod's area of London. It was only by chance that we stumbled upon this cute little gem. We arrived mid-afternoon thinking service would be terrible. We ended up with one of the best meals during our entire week in London! Delicious food -- and more than ample portions! The service was fast & the white tablecloth service outside was simply a treat. We tend to be foodie snobs, but we would go back to Beiteddine in a heartbeat and have even started eating more Lebanese food after returning to the US.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LADrako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant food, sort of; service so so slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Others have also commented. The restaurant was fairly empty, with two or three tables, and yet the service was really slow.
Also, avoid the house wine; hang over the next day.
Not sure we will be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beiteddine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beiteddine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing