We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #2,169 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$43 - US$43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a good pizza express with friendly and efficient service and a pleasant interior. The pizzas were really tasty though the member of our party having a salad was a bit disappointed (should of had a pizza). Short walk from Kings Cross so definitely worth it to get away from the crowded eateries at the station.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    264
    134
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
347 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Food nice as usual, but sack that waitress!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pizza Express have got it down to a fine art when it comes to mixing flavours. The 3 pizzas we ordered were of good standard and I would certainly recommend Pizza Express for the variety they offer, the interesting combinations they display and the good value for money you will get.

However, I have rarely seen such poor service. All we wanted was 3 pizzas and a drink before having to go to St Pancras Station. It took over 30 minutes for the pizzas to arrive and that was only after having complained twice to the waitress about it. After I had moaned about waiting for so long I could see she was having a chat with her manager, complaining about us, telling him we were unreasonable as we had only been waiting 10 minutes. This was of course a complete lie but I hope you felt better for covering your backside darling! When she served the pizzas she apologised for the long wait and mentioned that she had put special pressure on the kitchen to get ours done promptly. Another lie since I had direct line of vision onto her and the kitchen and she had got nowhere near the kitchen. Basically in pizza Express they cook pizzas in batches, So it's either your batch or it isn't. No amount of pressure will make them go faster as the speed is mostly regulated by the size of the oven.

After clearing our plates, she asked if we wanted dessert and we said no (towards which she was offended) but asked for the bill. We then watched her sit on her backside for 15 minutes, virtually just watching the world go by, and it quickly became clear we were not going to get that bill. So we chased another waiter up,who then promptly went to tell her we had chased the bill. She replied "What? They asked for the bill?". Well anyway, I don't know what her problem was, but that is not my problem. People like her are probably the first ones to scream that they are not treated well by their employers and, before they start blaming others, should really take a good look at their own behaviour. One thing is for sure: they have no place working in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying nearby. Lots of choice on the menu, tasty food and all at a good price. Service was also good. Definitely will be coming back here when we come to London again next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAM DAVID G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good wine, lovely waitress”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stopped off for diner with a friend and this location being close to two underground stations and mainline stations makes it a great place to meet up with easy transport links home.

Alba was our waitress and she was very friendly throughout.

Our food was served quickly and was good quality, the dough ball shared starter and pizza main course was in retrospect more than enough food and the tiramisu dessert whilst nice was one dish too many!

As a person who can't eat large portions of cheese I enjoy having a choice of Leggera pizzas to choose from and the Pollo ad Astra was a spicy delicious lower calorie pizza.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeaRoseBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick evening meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just opposite the hotel. Salad was very small but filled up on companion's pizza. Would not choose a chain like this normally but was suitable for our needs this time

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alibox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing