We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this place!”

El Pirata of Mayfair
Ranked #452 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$65 - US$65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Critically acclaimed Spanish tapas restaurant El Pirata opened its doors in 1994. Tucked away in the corner of Mayfair next to Hyde Park, El Pirata has become a firm favourite for those wanting an authentic Spanish experience. Relax at the superb mirrored bar with a drink or two whilst enjoying the atmosphere of the Spanish influenced decor. Whether upstairs or downstairs, you can enjoy the Tapas menu where each dish is individually priced, or if you’re not too familiar with Tapas, choose from our two fantastic set menus. At lunchtimes enjoy our special lunch menu which offers great value; two tapas dishes, a bread roll and alioli plus a soft drink or a glass of wine for just £10.25 – great value! Downstairs is ideal for parties and gatherings of up to 60 people. If you prefer a private area for either that important business dinner or a more romantic setting for that more intimate meal, you will find our two private alcoves perfect. When the weather’s at its best, our four outside tables are an instant hit, but you’ll have to be early because they are snapped up fast!
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Service, wine, food and great atmosphere - whats not to love! We pre-booked our table my e-mail, which was a good call, the place is packed. But when you get a table, you will not regret it. The food is really very good. Try the set menu 2 - it comes highy recommended. Our favourite was the second round - the seafood. Amazing!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    231
    61
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beware - for tourists only”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Terrible! Definitely a restaurant for tourists, their business couldn't rely on repeat business. Terrible service, bad quality experience all round. Food is disgrace; cheap ingredients and small portions. we left after couple of tapas, went to dinner elsewhere! Certainly not going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
282 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“spot on tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

A light lunch required,.,.,.,. whilst walking from the West End to Kensington, using the Tripadvisor app on my iphone this place appeared as top ranked - nearby.
What a find! I sat at the bar and had three delicious dishes and a refreshing beer, busy - full of atmosphere, and great service .
3 cheers for the TA app!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great value for Mayfair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We are regulars at El Pirata having used the restaurant since the 1970's when it was called the Down Street Wine Bar or something similar. It doesn't matter how long the gap is between our visits, we are always greeted like long lost friends. The place is always full so booking is essential, especially if you want to get a table upstairs. We often have the tapas selection, but on this occasion we chose our main course and asked the staff to select some tapas for starters. It was really excellent as always and tremendous value for money for Mayfair. In my view the suckling pig is better than you get in the best place in Madrid. Wine prices have gone up over the past year, but you can still get a house wine for about £22 - £25 per bottle. The service is attentive and the atmosphere is always great fun. Whenever we've taken guests there, they've wanted to go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schulkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best Taps Bar in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We always enjoy dinning at here. All dishes (fish, meat, Vegs) are test good, reasonable price and you never disappoint of the menus. My favourite dish is Pulpo a la gallega and you can not find many restaurants in London where they can serve nice Pulpo. We normally sit at Bar and order few glasses of Cava and 4 to 5 different Tapas, it would cost about £50.00. You can feet Spain at EL Pirata

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Pirata of Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to El Pirata of Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing