We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #482 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Quiet & clean”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights and whether it was due to having a floor 7 room overlooking an internal area or not, we didn't hear a thing all night, the room was small but clean and comfortable, can't really comment on service as we used the self check in but the location was great as we spent more time in Shoreditch but it was also close to the Old Street tube. Recommended especially as we bought well in advance and only paid £60 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    1,132
    581
    191
    152
See reviews for
676
841
142
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tyne &wear
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Got a deal for £80 per night. Breakfast included. Check in was bit until 3pm and we did have to wait. Only given 1 towel in room, but could ask the maids for more who were very helpful. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast tasty and fresh. Zero complaints!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grafter999
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with breakfast.

This is one of the refurbished Travelodges and our room was immaculate.

Great shower.

Breakfast was also great and fresh. Staff friendly.

But why only give one towel when you book a room for two?

Five min walk from old street station and bus stop outside of hotel main entrance.

No air con so would be unsuitable for summer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grafter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After searching for ages, this was the cheapest hotel we could find in London, therefore we didn't have high expectations. However, upon arrival we were pleasantly suprised. We arrived around 2pm and were told that check in was at 3pm, we asked to leave our case but unfortunately the storage for cases was full, so the gentleman on the desk gave us early check in for free which was great. The room was fairly small but an ample size for the both of us, with a clean and fresh decor. The view out of the window was just a wall, but we weren't bothered by this as we were only using the hotel for sleeping in!

The room was lovely and warm and we weren't disturbed by any noise at all (despite a noise warning on the Travelodge website). However, I can imagine if you were on one of the road side rooms this may be a different matter. As others have said, the tube station is only a short walk and easy to find. We were suprised to see that the area seems to be very quiet at night, as on the Saturday night that we were there, only the curry house across the road seemed to be open!

Only complaint is that the water in the shower was only warm and didn't get paticularly hot - but by no means a major issue.

Would definitely reccomend this for a base whilst exploring London!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the side that looks over the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieHCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Every year I go to London with friends and every year we stay here. We book in the sale and for £19-£29 a night central London the price cannot be beaten! The hotel is very easy to get to from Kings Cross and to the main touristy attractions of London via tube (Moorgate and Old Street both max 10mins walk from hotel).

The rooms are modern, clean and a good size - what you expect from a good Travelodge. They can be rather noisy (both internally from other guests and from street noise outside - even from the third floor of our most recent stay!) but we take ear plugs as we are not used to city noises. Our room did not have a hairdryer this time, but we were able to borrow one from the main reception.

I was surprised that there was nowhere near the hotel to get late night food (i.e. takeaway after a night of drinking). There is a Subway, but it shuts at 11pm - just so you're pre-warned and get food before heading back to the hotel. There is a Tesco a couple of doors down though that is open later for snacks.

Again, for the price the location cannot be beaten!

PS For an excellent cheap breakfast option (or drinks and food later, whatever!) there is a Wetherspoons near to Old Street tube station (left at the crossroads and you can't miss it!) I had a sausage sandwich, large juice and pancakes with bacon and maple syrup for approx £5.29.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I believe this is relatively recently refurbished. Everything seems clean and pleasant. Clean white bedding, clean bathroom, clean corridors. The lifts were less so, but never mind. It's so close to a tube station, with a small Sainsburys and Tesco so near as well, if you need anything. I had a very good night's sleep, interrupted only briefly by other guests returning noisily at 4 am. Not the hotel's fault, just bad luck for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank 4ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-provence, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was the cheapest option in the area that we wanted to stay in. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay in a Travelodge again after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#310 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#707 of 1,067 in London
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing