We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #505 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during a trip to London. it was quite a bit cheaper than most hotels we could find just under £100 so we didn't expect too much but The hotel is in a good central position we walked from Liverpool street wasn't far about ten minutes.The rooms have recently been refurbished so they were clean and fresh, we stayed in a family room, nice size room enough for a double and a pull out sofa. The bathroom was large again clean and tidy fresh towels provided with extra if needed.
staff were friendly and helpful we only saw them when checking in on leaving there was a box on the front desk to leave the keys. All in all it was a very easy and relaxing stay.
we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food but the restaurant looked busy when we passed so it cant be that bad haha

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    1,079
    559
    187
    151
See reviews for
637
793
137
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights 20-21st May. Room rate was £169.00/night. So not bad for the area.
Room was on 6th Floor. Very basic (no hairdryer/iron) however was very clean.
Dream-maker bed did what it said and I had a decent sleep both nights albeit very very warm as there is no Air-Con.......it was very humid in London the days I was there and a bit of Air-Con would have been nice! Reckon in the summer you would need a fan in the room.
There are some really lovely looking restaurants close by however I did not have the time to sample. The Travelodge does have a well stocked bar and offers food too which you can take up to your room. Food was OK. Not great but passable. The staff (bar and reception) were very helpful and polite,booking in and out took only a few minutes.
Given the location of this hotel I was surprised at the noise level, not bad at all (keep your window closed though). Overall a pleasant stay and great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellesbelles32ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this hotel primarily for proximity to a wedding venue and secondly to meet our budget. We arrived with an elderly Mum in tow after receiving upsetting news which required cancellations and room changes.
The staff were excellent, assisting in any way they could and with great patience. The rooms were excellent, the beds comfortable and refills of tea and coffee were forthcoming upon request. The loans of irons and hair dryers were also immediately available.
Breakfast was plentiful and good. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful, far exceeding our expectations of a budget hotel. Well done to you all.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were at the back of the hotel and did not have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddiswell, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very dissappointed with my room - good bed but scruffy room on the first floor with no air conditioning, just a window onto a noisy road. Bathroom lightbulb flashing and batteries missing from the small TV's remote - took 3 hours and two visits to reception for them to be fixed. Needless to say, I won't be back. I would recommend spending an extra £25 to stay in a private B&B.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

You tend to know what to expect with Travelodge and this is no different
London accommodation is expensive so this is no bargain but cheaper than the rest.

This hotel is well placed for the city and up-and-coming east side of London; Hoxton, Shoreditch, Brick Lane, Whitechapel

Easy to get to from KIngs Cross St Pancras or nearer tubes (nearest is Old St about 400m away)

no frills - ie no iron in the room, no shampoo or even soap, no air-con but there is a cafe bar on site if you want food

Staff were lovely and allowed us to leave our bags after check out.

The website says it can be noisy so we asked for a room on the top floor and it was fine

Room Tip: maybe choose higher floors in case of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A 'value' range hotel, clean with pleasant reception staff. Décor generally a little scuffed and in need of repair. Breakfast a little like Benidorm in the 80's; just rows of tables and the usual buffet.
Rooms have the usual Travelodge shampoo and NO SOAP.
A little noisy too. Room at the back of the hotel was overlooked by offices; would have benefitted from net curtains because without them you have to keep the curtains closed.
Major concern was the heat. No air con. Very poor nights sleep as a consequence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in this place for 1 night with our young family. Terrific location between Moorgate and Old St Tube/ Rail stations and many bus routes stop outside. Tesco Express pretty much next door, few eateries. Not far from City. Interesting cemetery (Bunhill Fields) opposite with graves of William Blake and Daniel Defoe easy to find. Close to Barbican and some nice looking pubs and 10 mins walk from the brilliant Fortune St Park playground for kids. Our first rm had a noisy leaking toilet and was very hot so we were transferred to better one at the back of the hotel which was also quieter and cooler. Love the refurbishment, new Dreamerz mattress and assembled put up beds for children. Ate in the cafe in the evening- 2 kids meals and 2 adults- quality and price were better than expected. All together v good value for money and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Caffypenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing