We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #505 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great location near old st tube. Good staff on reception. Didn't have breakfast or drinks so can't comment on that but room clean, fresh, comfy. Tea and coffee avail. Great for a couple of nights. No need for a fancy hotel go here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Pambelano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,076
    559
    187
    151
See reviews for
636
793
137
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

No rooms have air-con. It was like a sauna all night. Sleeping with the window opien in the middle of London not an option. The curtains are paper thin, so the room is completely lit by daylight at 530am. The doors to each bedroom are on powerful springs, so slam shut with no buffering at all.

Breakfast was as expected for a Travelodge. All the food is available, but for some reason you just don't want to eat it.

On a positive note, the staff friendly, the beds were comfortable, the room clean and functional. But with all the other bad things about the place, not worth staying in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RF333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It does exist, but not in Torquay - its in here in London.
The check-in really qualifies for a Basil sketch - with staff who dont have any idea, urgency, interest or enough English to handle any problems. 30 minutes to find my reservation, ques at checking, many people complaining - just out of control. No management. No leadership.
The corridors and rooms were boiling hot, heating was on, when it was warm outside.
All for the bargain price of £137. Shocked, dissappointed, astonished how the Travelodge brand as decended - 10 years ago it stood for value, consistency and safe, but not anymore.

Room Tip: Best tip would be stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Only a few good things- room clean, Spacious. Apart from that- no air condition, nothing in the room except walls and bed. Only a small bottle of soap in the bathroom. No safe. No phone. Didn't have any method to call the reception to tell them they forgot, again, to leave us towels. Far away from the center. As mentioned in the title - this was our third visit to travelodge- the first, the last and one too many....

Helpful?
4 Thank Gabi666
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stay here whenever I am in London on business as it is right on the Northern underground line and it takes me straight to work in 10 mins.

I've always found the staff to be more than courteous, always willing to go the extra yard to make me feel happy in the hotel.

On one occasion I found the wireless to be a bit iffy, but the other six or seven times no issue so must have been a one-off / room with poor reception (this was room 101).

I think this hotel got revamped a year or so ago and all the rooms I have been in so far have been clean, spacy, more than comfortable!

My only gripe would be that a lot of the time the wall sockets aren't very close to the bed, so don't go to bed with a half empty mobile phone or you might wake up and miss your alarm (not that it happened to me, of course!).

Definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room not tacing City Road as it can get quite loud at night. I ask every time and it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just returned after 2 nights stay on a business trip. The reception staff were welcoming, efficent and friendly. Room might be basic but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I did not use restaurant/café bar, but all areas looked very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was lovely and clean,staff were all really friendly and helpful. Bed was really comfortable. Hotel was quiet too.They may be basic but they have everything you need,we always use travelodges in London. Nice and central to centre and shops close too.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#666 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing