We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toooooo hot and poor evening service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #481 of 1,067 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toooooo hot and poor evening service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good location a short walk from tube station with shops near by.
When we arrived the 2 ladies on reception were very nice and polite. We were allocated a room on the 7th floor as soon as you get out the lift you are hit by the heat, there's no air conditioning in the room either and even with the fan up full and the window open it was still unbearable which made getting ready for our evening out a nightmare and sleep was uncomfortable. In the shower there was hair on the ceiling, a small stain on the curtain that looked like blood which is quite grim! the shower head had orangey scum and wasn't very pleasant.
The room itself was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable but we wouldn't stay here again because of the heat also the restaurant was very pricey and poor value food. They got the order wrong and over charged us for items we didn't order, my partner had to go back up to the bar twice to try to get the problems rectified but they were more interested in serving others than rectifying any issues, they refunded us for the items they over charged us for & then they wouldn't give us our receipt back and when our food came out without the extras we had ordered they didn't sort it out we ended up eating what we were given and going up to our room disappointed with the service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review Jon A. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We require a high level of customer service from our staff in our Bar Cafes and indeed throughout all our hotels. Furthermore, the food that we offer is standardised across all our hotels and our staff are trained in how to prepare and present the food. Furthermore, we are concerned to learn of the condition of your room and that you did not have a comfortable stay as a result and would like to investigate these issues in more detail to provide a resolution for you. To do so, please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    1,132
    581
    191
    153
See reviews for
676
842
142
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hi there
worse experience in my life ; day one, after long journey from Glasgow, wanted a shower. Found a small tube for hand wash and shower...not amused.
breakfast - bread was cheap of cheap, no butter ; dinner was really bad, vege pizza really dire, desert was highlight !
Room was too hot, opened window, to noisy. So had fan on at level 3 during the night
Last day, tried new menu ; veggie option; only customer ! ; got meal option...situation handled very well by Ben...food very nice....

Overall, poor. But, Ben who works at hotel trying to improve the place. Give him support, I be back...


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
4 Thank Imrane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Well located for either Old Street or Moorgate tube stations. On arrival, I was allocated a room on a low floor adjacent to the busy front road. I asked about noise levels and without prompting further, was offered a room at the rear on a high floor above roof level. This was fine. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was quite adequate. If you like to use hard soap, then take your own because only liquid soap is provided. Breakfast was quite reasonable - but avoid the thin, watery "fruit juice" and the scrambled egg (very grainy and not to be recommended).
Be aware of check in times - to check in early will cost you £10 and the luggage room costs £2.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATJ350Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and was not impressed, but they have since carried out a refurbishment, the rooms are much improved the cafe is the biggest improvement I noticed, reception was very friendly and when busy you can use the auto check in if you booked on line.
I found it a bit expensive but have noticed the prices tend to fluctuate depending on season and if anything is going on in London, it's improved so not bad at the right price

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel was close to tube and bus stations, well positioned. Room was clean and well serviced; bed was comfortable, towels were clean and replaced daily. There was no shampoo nor soap nor equipment for collecting tooth brush/cream in the bathroom; in addition, room was dark as the window was seeing the inside of the building. The only real issue was the wifi connection: we paid 24 hours, which were not intended of actual navigation, but from hour to hour; receptionist declined their responsibility and did not help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here with my friend and my young niece as we were going to Wembley. The check in staff were very helpful and friendly. They put is in a room with three beds so we all had a bed to ourselves, which was great. The room was hot and we slept with the window open, which then was noisy, but this is to be expected in Central London. I also realise that for the price we pay for a Travelodge that this will mean no air con. The hotel is very well positioned for Moorgate tube station with a quick tube ride direct to Wembley. Nothing bad to say about the hotel, would have given it a 5 if the rooms weren't so hot to the point of being uncomfortable for someone that likes a cool room to sleep well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKirk-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was only about a ten minute walk from Liverpool Street and also near Moorgate tube station. Plenty of other places in walking distance.. Brick Lane , Spitalfiields Market etc. There is a Tesco metro just a few doors down and a Marks and Spencer a few minutes away if you want drinks or snacks.
The check in was quick and efficient and the staff were friendly. We were surprised when we got to the room as it was a disabled room which we had not requested. However, the plus side is that I am rather short , so the low height hanging space and mirror positioning was convienient for me.
The beds were comfortable but narrow. My companion actually fell out of the bed during the night and narrowly missed hitting his head on the bedside table which is fixed and cannot be moved!
Apart from that our only other problem was that being a hot weekend we wanted the window open and The air conditioning unit outside was very noisy . On the plus side a fan had been provided in the room.
Bar prices in the hotel what you expect in this area, we did not eat in the restaurant.
Can recommend this hotel as being good location and welcome reception and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1147GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#708 of 1,067 in London
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing