We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #481 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel itself has a good location, easy access to Metro, local shops etc. The bus from London Luton Airport just stops around the corner.
The staff was friendly, the room was clean but the beds were extremely uncomfortable ( I could feel the metal springs in my back) so I ended up taking the large pillows out of the couch and sleeping on them on the floor.
We went as a family (7 of of us) and we rented 3 rooms and in 2 out of 3 rooms the bed was like this.
We only stayed for 2 nights so somehow we survived.
Other than the beds everything was OK.
We did not pay for breakfast, not a big fan of the english breakfast, so we ate some fresh porridge around the corner in EAT.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central City Road, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback Sophie C. It is regrettable to learn you found our beds to be uncomfortable as we have recently put in brand new pocket sprung sleepezee beds in every room, we are however aware that our customer may have different preferences on the firmness of the mattress. We are however pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    1,132
    581
    191
    153
See reviews for
676
842
142
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on june 21st
I had originally booked the farringdon travelodge but there had been a problem with them not having family rooms so a month before we travelled i had an email adking if i wished to transfer to city road
After the stay at farringdon a week later we were glad of the original transfer

The room was spacious enough for us for the night we were there
Clean tidy
Coolish for a london room but there were two fans which helped
Bathroom clean water hot
Breakfast was filling and for less than £8 pp all you can eat technically iys was cheper than grabbing a mac ds as kids also eat free

All in all nice for what it was and om a quality vs price basis very good

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laylanmummyluvdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great value budget hotel with welcoming staff. The refurbishment has enhanced this chain of hotel and well worth using. Staff were genuiningly friendly. Proper hotel feel to downstairs areas. Two supermarkets nearby for keeping costs down!


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank windsorsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Is much improved since having a makeover. Staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and now have much needed fans. Had a room in the centre this time at the end of a corridor so was lovely and quiet. Only a Travelodge but definitely one of the better ones. Good location too.

Room Tip: Stay in the middle if you want a quiet room, it can be very noisy near the road and near the back al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean with good size bathroom with a full size bath, great.
Large rooms but no air con but normal for England / Europe. Great breakfast and friendly staff. All in all a good budget place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dropbear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is close to tube stations, giving access to the variety of attractions in London. A good value hotel. A lot of reviewers mention that there was a lot of traffic noise but I did not notice this problem. The room was nice and clean, and the breakfast was very nice and varied. The only thing I would change about my room was the shower head in the bathroom – it would be nice if one could detach this whilst having a shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in the 27th June -29th June. All around pleasant stay although there were a few let downs. The room we were given 404 was far too hot at night so we had to keep the fan on all night which is ok if you can cope with the noise of the fan! Second thing was the evening restaurant staff although they were pleasant we ordered a combo starter and mains each food was nice although disappointing when the starter came out at the same time as the mains. Thirdly when checking out on the 29th (Sunday) we asked if there was anywhere we could leave our suitcase until our train home and we were advised that we would have to pay to store it in one of the main train/tube stations. I normally always stay at premier inns where you are able
To do this no problem. Overall stay was good, rooms are a nice size just what you need considering you're hardly ever in your room when travelling in London. Shower was nice and powerful, beds were standard comfort but there's nothing like your own bed as they say! Perfect spot for the tubes and is also a lovely walk back from St Pauls Cathedral if it's nice sunny evening. The reception staff were very welcoming throughout the journey. Cleanliness of hotel is also spot on and the cleaning ladies are lovely, always said good morning and wished you a pleasant day. Also there is a Tesco express which is handy for little snacks at the room at night time if peckish.

I would recommend staying here if you are looking for just a place to shower and sleep.

Room Tip: Room 404 was nice but very hot and facing main road.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica265x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#708 of 1,067 in London
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing