We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central City Road

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge London Central City Road
Ranked #508 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Eminem gig at Wembley, wasn't bad at all. Friendly staff, clean and neat rooms and has everything you need. Didn't try the food here though as we were mainly out and about. Very close to the Moorgate underground station so it's easy to get around.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank timhousam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    1,046
    546
    186
    149
See reviews for
614
771
133
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst having a mini trip to London, 5 minute walk to Old Street tube which has a great choice of access including Euston.

The room was very basic, only provided with Two small towels, no hair dryer but it's what to expect for a cheap price.

Only problems we found was the room was unbearably hot, even with the windows open and no air on and there was a fire evacuation on our last morning before we had time to back and had to stand outside the hotel for over an hour

It's a great hotel to stay in if you're planning to keep busy in the day - a place to sleep! Has easy transport access and shops, places to eat nearby.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abbieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

family of 4 ,sightseeing london. the hotel was good value for money,clean and great staff prepared to answer any questions we had . the only fault we had with the room is we didnt have air con . overall a good stay


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 2410WILLIAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerini, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I traveled 3-7 July 2014 in London with my wife and my daughter.
First of all, I want to say that if I will go again in the future in London I will search again for a Travelodge hotel, as I am pleasant with my accommodation.
About the hotel now: it was very very clean and the decoration was very good.
There is a small Tesco supermarket outside the hotel (15 m from the hotel’s entrance – in the same building), so you can buy water and anything else you like. I did not pay for breakfast so I bought everything I need for it from Tesco.
The Moorgate tube station is 5 minutes walk and there is a bus stop exactly outside the hotel’s entrance. They are in travelcard’s zone no 1.
The area around the hotel is safe even in nights, although there are not many people walking.
From Stansted airport, if you choose Terravision buses to go in London, you can stop in Liverpool street (10 minutes walking for the hotel, but someone has to explain the way to go) or stop to Finsbury Square (only 1-2 minutes from the hotel). Becareful: you have to buy online the tickets if you want to stop in Finsbury Square - they do not sell them in airport.
The problems now:
When I arrived at 3 July the temperature in London was very high (28 degrees Celsius) and the room’s window was opening only a little for safety reasons. There was a fan but it could not make a difference in the temperature. Conclusion: when the temperature is high there is a small/medium problem.
The second problem was a little strange: there was not in the WC a toilette brush! As you can understand this could be a big problem sometimes. I will not write here how I treated it…
In the end I have to say that the value for money factor is excellent. So if you want to trip on budget, it is a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geotool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room had no air conditioning so was extremely hot in the night. We could not have the window open at night either because it would have been very easy for someone to have broken in. Also, the bathroom walls are too thin! However, the room was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank M5453DIJessicaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visit various Travelodges in both London and the UK - this one is fair but not great. The hotel has no air conditioning in the rooms and on a hot summers evening it's not great. There was a fan in the room but wasn't great having the window open as all I could hear was some sort of machinery on the ground floor. The corridors were all very hot too.

Would I stay here again - yes but not the best in London

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michaeldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleover Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting City Road Travelodge being in the heart of London we wondered what the Travelodge quality would be like we were very impressed Special Thanks to Abu & Michelle.
Found the room to be very quiet & the cleanliness was excellant thanks to all.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#645 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#443 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central City Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central City Road

Property: Travelodge London Central City Road
Address: 1-23 City Road, London EC1Y 1AG, England (Formerly Travelodge London Central Moorgate)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#306 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central City Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central City Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Central Moorgate Hotel London
Travelodge Hotel City Road
Travelodge Hotel London
Travel Lodge London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing