We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often shift you to different hotel in same chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington
Ranked #559 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The Shaftesbury hotels are quite good value for money, and clean. However, a major drawback is that you never know in which place you are going to end up. The small print has a statement that they can shift you to a different hotel in the chain, which happened to me at least half of the time I have booked with them (been there many times). Not always a very nice surprise when you arrive late.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards

Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

I had few expectations coming to the Shaftesbury Paddington--had gotten a cheap deal for $100 on Priceline and was expecting a small single room and perhaps basic accompaniments. But instead, I was greeted at the front desk and told I'd been given a room upgrade for no particular reason. The room was plush--a large, well-padded bed, along with a plasma-screen tv, a comfortable desk, free wired internet, and even a packet of biscuits (cookies) to accompany the in-room coffee service. There was also a minifridge and microwave. This was as nice as any hotel I've stayed at in London over the years, along with a convenient location walking distance from Paddington station. The location itself is unassuming--it is in a series of white painted Georgian terraces which offer other hostelries, mostly b&b type stuff. This place is better.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, It gives me great joy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Staying in Room 305, fronting the road, it wasn't too bad with barely any traffic running (but that was because the road was partially closed). It was a small room (hence, cosy), some shuffle space around the double bed and a small table and chair. Similarly, the bathroom was small with just a shower (and toilet and sink, obviously). All of this was rather well presented (hence, neat and clean) and, other than a fixed/sealed crack in the toilet bowl, I don't think that there was much wrong with the room at all. In fact, it all seemed like you would expect.

Yes, it was small. Yes, there was a potential death fall literally immediately from opening the door (thanks to my other half for telling me to 'watch your step'). Yes, the walls/floors could be a little more sound-proof (stayed on a Thursday, so it wasn't that busy, but you could hear people walk around in their room above). But it was kind of perfect for what we wanted, which was clean, quiet, and close to Paddington station (only 5 mins walk, at most).

And fantastically and rather gratefully, on the day of check-out the reception staff let us leave our (small) bags in storage whilst we went out for the whole day and to return around 10:30pm to collect them. They said it was normally until 5pm, but with a bit of smiling and pleasing, they let us.

Also, there are a number of restaurants and small shops around to keep things slightly lively just round the corner, and to find something to eat (try a place called 'No. 35', can't remember the road name).

If you want, have a sneaky peak at their fire-escape map; that'll show you the room sizes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sting100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards

Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The location of this hotel is its main advantage. On walking distance from Paddington Station I could very easily catch my train further up the country early in the morning. My room was clean, contained all necessities, but was rather small. I am at least not used to having only one square meter of empty floor around my bed. Furthermore I think the breakfast is rather expensive at this hotel (15 pounds) and really not worth it. In a white tiled cellar, cramped with tables and chairs, you get a bland breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards

Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Got this hotel online for a bargain fifty pounds for the night, habing got tickets for a concert in Brixton at the last minute. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and I found the staff to be really nice and welcoming. We were shown to our room, which was a little small, but very clean and tidy. This hotel is a little gem as it is a five minute walk to the tube and to London Paddington, which means you don't have to fork out on taxi fares. There is also a lovely little bar tucked away on the ground floor, which is relatively cheap considering London prices!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments, It gives me great joy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

Comments like these motivates everyone at the Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington to go an extra mile.

On behalf of my team, I Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Do not stay in this hotel. The staff are rude, incompetent and unfriendly. After a mixup at the desk which left us waiting around for 30mins, the room was small and dirty. Staff not very friendly or helpful. Location is good, but one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peeled_apples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards
Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I stayed there 4 days for a business trip. It is very near to the city center and Paddington station. Staff was not helpful and polite. There are some dirts on pilow and cover. However, it is a cheap hotel and do not go with high expectation. I will not stay there again because of the bad cleanliness score. Not recommended

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nema D, General Manager at The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback and it has been taken on board.

Kind Regards
Nema Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#175 of 1,081 in London
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#402 of 1,081 in London
4,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington

Address: 55/61 Westbourne Terrace, London W2 3UY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#340 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £77 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing