We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above our expectations!! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayfair House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayfair House
Ranked #691 of 1,089 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above our expectations!! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment earlier this year, since it was our first experience booking an apartment we were not sure what to expect. We arrived a bit early they offered us an early check-in, we were amazed by the quality of service that had been offered to us, the rooms were great with all the facilities. It’s close to tube station. The staff was quite helpful we had a great stay we are looking forward for our net one

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaheer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
12
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama Province, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I live here from january till late februray. Great flat for any one doing business in London. Good internet the staff is very good. Very central now these are luxury apartments so dont complain on their price great value for the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniorosetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Hotel itself is very nice with a great location as well. However we were treated very poorly. Firstly on arriving in London from abroad on Saturday, we could not withdraw money to pay upfront so we had to pay by card for which an extra 2% was charged (which was about 50 pounds) and they refused to just put a hold on the credit card and let us pay by cash on Monday once we had a chance to withdraw.
Secondly, we had booked a 2 bedroom superior modern, which was supposed to have 2 bathrooms. They gave us an apartment with one bathroom, which was extremely inconvenient for 4 people. When we tried to ask them to change we met with a "Sorry, we cant do anything this is all we have" and we couldn't speak to a manager till monday because it was a weekend. By Monday one of the other rooms were vacated, so they shifted us to a proper 2 bathroom apartment but there was no apology and no refund or anything despite having us in a lower level room than what we had paid for.
Thirdly, when we first complained about this they said that the booking was done by a third party and this is what they had reserved. I know we had done it through them directly and when we showed them the email they admitted it was through them but still there was no apology, just a "Nothing we can do". It was all told to be our fault until we argued for 2 days.
Finally, we have written an email to their manager who was unavailable all week while we were there, with no response yet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldsenvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family (me, husband, teen children and parents) traveled to London for a combination vacation and business trip. We picked the Mayfair house because of its proximity to central London. What we got was so much more. Our 2 bedroom was so spacious and well equipped. We also had a studio on the same floor. The staff was so attentive and gracious. They really wanted everything to be perfect for us. Any question or request was answered immediately and professionally. We can't say enough compliments. It's expensive but you get everything you pay for. Lots of little extras. Oh, did I say that the master suite has a jacuzzi bath!

Room Tip: The street is quiet for sleeping. Backside where the studio was is a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We have stayed at Mayfair House at least 10 times. Each time the booking was done efficiently and quickly. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and had no delay in going to our room. The rooms have always been attractive(both classic and contemporary) and clean. The maid service was daily and the rooms were spotless. The staff at the front desk and maintenance were superb. Whenever we had a need it was provided quickly and courteously. All the staff have been helpful, delightful and competent.Ms Suzuki runs a superb hotel and we cannot say enough good things about all the staff. In fact, we hope to return again soon as we think this place is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75R-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The position of Mayfair House, next to Shepherds Market, is excellent for exploring the London West End, Westminster and the Market itself. I worked for several years in Westminster so comment from this experience. The front desk is very helpful. The apartments are comfortable and efficient but furnished and decorated a little severely. We keep repeating our stays in Mayfair House over the years which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 312682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Or you will end up hating it. And once you commit for a certain number of days, there's no cancelling.
Nothing is consistent. Then again, it's not a hotel, but an apartment rental. The maid service - and yes, they are all Polish and Russian - is some days good, some days sloppy. And yes, they do tend to come whenever - some days very early, some days late. And the units all vary. We had a 4th floor unit for 7 nights. The bedroom was so tiny, it fit one small bed (we think it was smaller than an American full size bed) and two night tables. The living room was nice and spacious - when it was the bedroom that should have been. The kitchen - again, tiny. The connecting door - a pain in the neck. The neighbors either cooked or had food delivered every night and it literally stank! People slammed doors deep into the night. The elevators worked or they didn't, one never knew. You get one small bottle of shampoo and conditioner, one bar of soap upon arrival. That's it. No more. Dire warnings about not smudging the towels hang on the bathroom wall. Having read the previous reviews, I asked the handyman to walk through the unit before we entered it, to check everything so we would not be blamed for anything after we left.
If you pay by credit card, you will be charged a 2% fee.
The clientele - let me not even go there!
The neighborhood - well, we love Shepherds Market, and you got to, otherwise the late night noise from the pubs and restaurants and all day construction (but that's all over London) will drive you batty. But it's a great place to walk around in, the parks are a few blocks away, wonderful Berkeley Square and environs are around the corner. And so are some embassies, including the Saudi one, with the machine-gun carrying cops outside. And the place swarms with young hedge fund workers, who can be a bit of a pain in the ..ah, neck when they do their Lords of the Universe thing.
But back to Mayfair House, yes, we do recommend it, but with lots of caveats and NOT if this is your first time in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and ask for a spacious bedroom, if possible without a connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MommyG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#401 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#474 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Park Lane Mews Hotel
Park Lane Mews Hotel
#705 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair House

Property: Mayfair House
Address: Mayfayre House 22-28 Shepherd Street, London W1J 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Family Hotel in London
#375 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayfair House 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury serviced apartments in exclusive Mayfair: charming and intimate, Mayfair House offers a mix of traditional and contemporary apartments in the heart of London's prestigious Mayfair. The 26 luxurious apartments range from One, Two and Three Bedroom apartments, and for the ultimate in luxury, a magnificently refurbished Four Bed-room Penthouse Suite with balcony. The Mayfair area is conveniently close to Hyde Park, Park Lane, Oxford Street, Piccadilly and London's famous West End theatre district. It also offers some of the finest designer shopping establishments in the world. Mayfair House provides choice and style to suit every need: Superior and Executive options are avail-able and Modern or Classic design choices. Modern apartments have recently been refurbished in a contemporary design style, whilst the Classic apartments retain a traditional style in furnishings and finish. All apartments have been designed to offer complete privacy, as well as the flexibility of inter-connecting apart-ments if desired. Lift access avail-able to all apartments. For business, pleasure or sheer indulgence, May-fair House combines com-fort, independence and luxury for a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayfair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing