We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel at a fair price”
Review of Mayfair House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair House
Ranked #699 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Very nicely modernized hotel. Great service. Nice people. Free wifi and business center. Cold water - still and sparkling always available. Far exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbazerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2009

My family and I stayed at this apartment in September 2008 and had the most wonderful experience. Our party of travellers included myself, my husband, my elderly mother in a wheelchair and three children and had the most beautiful three bedroom apartment.
The location was unbelievablely close to everything - you could walk to Oxford Street, Picadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Green Park and the tourist buses leave from around the corner about 5 mins away.
There are places nearby to buy an easy dinner and a supermarket within easy walking distance. We were able to use the free internet and the reception staff were extremely helpful. The kids loved the fact that there were three televisions and gorgeous four poster beds in the bedrooms.
There are classic English pubs all around and you feel quite safe walking around even at night. We would definitely stay here again and would love the same apartment as that was one of the great highlights of a great trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank carts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

1. We arrived to find we had been "upgraded" to a less comfortable apartment in another building without the amenities (underfloor heating, internet access) that were our main reason for choosing this listing.
Apartment had adjoining door to a room that was being used by very heavy smokers and the smoke was coming through the double door. The heating controls were also unresponsive and the apartment was terribly overheated and uncomfortable.
We asked for another room & were told the hotel was non-smoking & that they would deal with the problem. When we asked to be moved to another apartment, we were told it was not possible.
Smoking continued throughout the next day and the next and our apartment was reeking. Management sent a boy to tape around the door but that had no effect - we were stuffing pillows along the bottom of the door to try to stop the overpowering smoke. Spoke with manager who said they were charging 500 British pounds ($1000) a day in fines to the smokers - one can see that for them this money far outweighed any health hazaards we might experience.
We decided to leave as we were becoming ill and could not use the apartment, so we gave over 24 hours notice but were told that there would be no refund for the last day even though the apartment was unbearable.
My advice - give this MayKenBel Property group a wide berth for your health and sanity.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank travelclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I have been staying in the most amazing building in London.
The location is great, the staff is very professional and I woul like to mention Mr Italo the booking Manager who has been very helpful with my booking. Fantastique!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Emiliaoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Andateci solo se siete bianchi, cristiani e eterosessuali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lordauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair H, General Manager at Mayfair House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfair H, Owner at Mayfair House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#481 of 1,077 in London
64 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#468 of 1,077 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#65 of 1,077 in London
1,137 reviews
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair House

Address: Mayfayre House 22-28 Shepherd Street, London W1J 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in London
#378 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £235 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayfair House 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury serviced apartments in exclusive Mayfair: charming and intimate, Mayfair House offers a mix of traditional and contemporary apartments in the heart of London's prestigious Mayfair. The 26 luxurious apartments range from One, Two and Three Bedroom apartments, and for the ultimate in luxury, a magnificently refurbished Four Bed-room Penthouse Suite with balcony. The Mayfair area is conveniently close to Hyde Park, Park Lane, Oxford Street, Piccadilly and London's famous West End theatre district. It also offers some of the finest designer shopping establishments in the world. Mayfair House provides choice and style to suit every need: Superior and Executive options are avail-able and Modern or Classic design choices. Modern apartments have recently been refurbished in a contemporary design style, whilst the Classic apartments retain a traditional style in furnishings and finish. All apartments have been designed to offer complete privacy, as well as the flexibility of inter-connecting apart-ments if desired. Lift access avail-able to all apartments. For business, pleasure or sheer indulgence, May-fair House combines com-fort, independence and luxury for a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mayfair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing