We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Railway Tavern
Nearby Hotels
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
63
38
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
38
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstratford stationolympic parkwestfield shopping centrebrilliant place to staywonderful hostsroom was cleana lovely stayyogurtminute walklinksaccommodationtoiletunderground
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A family event was being held in the hotel on Sunday 23rd February so we stayed on Saturday the 22nd. We had a lovely clean spacious warm room and enjoyed a great breakfast. A special thank you to Jan and Tom and their staff for their warm and friendly welcome and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Brenda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Brenda,, thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that the family had a wonderful time, and if you are in this part of London again, please contact us for a reservation.
Many thanks

Jan & Thomas Dooner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Four days at tavern:tipical old house with pub downstairs. Good live music and beers, small clean room, wonderful homemade breakfast, nice and friendly people, near the station and the underground, easy to find. We hope to return to this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianluca78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Many thank for this review, we hope that you return soon.
Janet and thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our family's three very pleasant nights at The Railway Tavern Inn were a highlight of our first trip to London. The inn is immaculately clean and well-maintained, and the staff is to a person friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts are simple, but delicious, and even if you opt for something other than the traditional "Full English", you'll start your day feeling satisfied.

The rooms are small, but cozy and well-appointed, with comfortable beds and flat screen TVs. Getting to the rooms involves negotiating a couple of flights of stairs, which could prove a challenge for some guests. The inn is a five-minute walk from the Stratford Underground station; the traditional tourist spots are only a 15 minute Tube trip away.

There is a very nice movie theater (called a "cinema" in England) just down the street from the Inn, and The Stratford Centre, a large, American-style shopping and restaurant complex, adjoins the Underground station. The 2012 Olympic Village is within walking distance.

We did not spend much time in the pub, but the clientele appeared to be mostly folks from the neighborhood, who were very friendly. We did eat one dinner in the pub: the food was nothing fancy -- burgers, salads, and traditional fish and chips -- but very well prepared, and thoroughly delicious.

The innkeepers, Tom and Jan, are gregarious, informative, and hospitable. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and our conversations with them were very enjoyable.

We can't say enough good about this place! Staying here was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CortMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review; we cannot thank you enough for this glowing report of our little establishment, we always aim to please all those guest who stay here.
We look forward to your return to London and hope that you will come to stay with us again.
Once again, many thanks

Tom & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

staff and owners made us feel very welcome,and coudn`t do enough to help us have a wonderful time after missing the last train home after visiting the near by theatre royal in stratford.the room in which we stayed was immaculate ,furnished and decorated to a very high standard,with a big flat screen tv.room was very quiet.and had a great nights sleep on a very comfy bed.also the on suite bathroom was great and had a fantastic shower.
in morning went down stairs to be greeted with fresh coffee a proper english breakfast.
this hotel is a real gem and will come here again.many thanks to the owners jan and tom and all the staff.

Room Tip: street side has a great view overlooking the olympic park.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcurran427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your excellent review, we will pass on your comments to our staff who make the effort together with our management staff. Glad you enjoyed your stay, please contact us if you are in this area again.
Once again many thanks

Thomas & Janet Dooner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just got back from a two night stay here. We stayed in two different rooms due to us booking late and found both rooms to be comfortable. It's in easy reach of the overground and underground stations and the staff were very accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty_833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D, Owner at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Kirsty, many thanks for your review, it is so nice to see that guests take time out to make comments that enable new potential guests to get a feel of the accommodation.
Many thanks

Jan & Thomas Dooner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews