We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap, but not that cheerful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington Suite Hotel
Ranked #979 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheap, but not that cheerful.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights last weekend.

The window in the bedroom wouldnt stay open , the heat in the room was horrendous on arrival. The aircon was innefective
No plug in bathroom sink
Grouting on bathroom floor was amateurish.
Bathroom light didnt work - despite telling staff - nothing was done.
Bathroom was minute
''Kitchen'' in bathroom was too small and not in a good position - a decent vanity unit in a different position would have been better.

Two good points - distance from nearest tube station , approx 10 mins slow walk.
Bed linen changed every day - very impressed

Will not go stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejay138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    66
    101
    80
    162
See reviews for
68
131
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights while attending an Earls Court exhibition. The rooms where clean and well appointed. Fresh towels each day was unnecessary but nice. Good touches with a free bottle of water tea and coffee. While I was there the lift was out of order.
Would stay there again, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here as it was very close to an exhibition we were visiting at Olympia. The room was clean, the bathroom was a decent size, air conditioning worked well, even though we were facing the main road, the noise didn't disturb our sleep. The sink and fridge came in very handy. The staff were helpful. I didn't have time to have breakfast so I can't comment on that, but overall I think it was pretty good, I didn't expect the Ritz so I didn't get disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellingborough,u.k
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Read the reviews and they got it about right. The staff I saw lacked any pride or enthusiasm, reflecting the joyless atmosphere here. As one reviewer said, they cant even get the little things right. Room drab, no plug in washbasin. I normally leave a £2 tip for staff but cut it to £1, so the missing plug is costing them £365 a year if everyone thinks like me. Breakfast was awful but room crowded due to it being open only for an hour-why such a meagre slot?. It wasn't even that cheap-got much better value elsewhere. Baggage storage and w-fi at rip off rates. A Rigsby style penny wise/pound foolish dive-must get no return custom unless their desperate. Best part of the stay was leaving.

Room Tip: Insist on a back room-front road really busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked this hotel as the location is great for Notting Hill Carnival. the kitchinette doors didn't open fully because the wall mounted tv is in the way, fully equipped seems to mean one plate 2 cups and some cutlery. no problem as you are very close to lots of bars and restaurants. breakfast is dire but as previously said help is at hand in the form of Wetherspoons. the room we had was 'one of the better ones' according to the guy at the front desk. the size of the room was just about bearable for the 3 nights we stayed any more would have been a problem as it is extremely small and nothing like what they portray on there web site. On a health and safety point when a fire door says 'FIREDOOR KEEP CLOSED' this I take to man don't keep them wedged open the one nearest our room could not be closed it was wedged open so tight. Whilst I understand this is a budget Hotel I was very disappointed and have had much better for a lot less. The location alone keeps this from a terrible to a poor rating. bathroom was good

Room Tip: ask for the biggest one they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The positives...

It's walking distance (ten minutes) from the nearest Tube Station (Shepherds Bush).

The negatives...

Access to the hotel's wi-fi is subject to paying a fee (from memory about £2 PER HOUR), so is obviously unsuitable for foreign visitors to London who'd be relying on wi-fi. It's 2013... wi-fi should be FREE and available in ALL rooms.

The breakfast? This consisted of a communal (at the serving area) plate of cheese, a bowl of stale cereal and bread for making toast, and an unsupervised flask of hot water for tea and coffee. I shudder to think of the possible accidents just waiting to happen... a small child, for example, stretching upwards to pick up the flask and spilling boiled water over themselves. The intention of having a breakfast is to literally do that, to break a fast... but this hotel failed miserably. Upon leaving the hotel each day, my first priority was to find somewhere to eat.

The shower booth? I pity anyone with a generously proportioned body. You'll need to squash yourself into the booth, otherwise you won't be able to shut the door behind you.

The complementary/free supply of coffee and tea in the room? This consisted of two generous (insert sarcastic face) sachets of each, and were not replaced each day.

The bed? I now know how Alice in Wonderland felt when she suddenly became massive in size, and everything around her was shrunken. If you fidget in bed a lot (like me), be careful you don't take a tumble out the minitature bed and land on the floorboards...

... which leads me nicely on to the floorboards. It was like being on the set of D.I.Y S.O.S (for the benefit of foreign readers, this is a TV show broadcast in the United Kingdom that goes into people's houses and puts right home repairs that have invariably gone wrong big-time). Several of the floorboards were ill-fiting and some jutting out. I'd recommend you wear shoes in the room to avoid stubbing your toes.

Security? I'd advise solo female visitors from staying here. Security was non-existent. For example, the reception desk was often un-manned. Suffice to say, anyone could quite literally come in from off the street, walk pass reception, enter a lift, and wander freely up and down corridors. Equally important, the bedroom windows did not have inner locks on them. If you're female and intend staying here solo, make sure you're not on the ground floor (Americans would call this First Floor).

The staff? Few of them had a good grasp of the English language. Obviously, this is a contentious point to be making, but surely in London staff should be able to help guests with their questions without resorting to shrugging their shoulders and evidently not having a clue what the guest is saying to them.

In Summary, this hotel fails to get the basics right>>>making a guest feel welcome, the provision of the little-things that can make a big difference to the 'guest-experience' (decent supply of complementary drinks, free w-fi, a safe environment, a breakfast that goes beyond a few slices of toast).

To anyone from abroad and reading this... yes, come to London, you'll love the experience and take home numerous happy memories (be warned, it's an expensive city to spend your time, so budget accordingly and do your homework in advance on how to make your hard-earned dollars and euros stretch the most), but don't stay at this hotel (because it shames the good name of the United Kingdom).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiderfrommars2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#737 of 1,088 in London
437 reviews
Hotel 65
#806 of 1,088 in London
522 reviews
Viking Hotel
#860 of 1,088 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#691 of 1,088 in London
236 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#878 of 1,088 in London
376 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#839 of 1,088 in London
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Suite Hotel

Property: Kensington Suite Hotel
Address: 128 Holland Road, London W14 8BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #979 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
Hotel Kensington Suite
Kensington Suite London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing