We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Giraffe - Royal Festival Hall
Ranked #2,226 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$4 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: Freshly cooked food for everyone served to the sound of great music - guaranteed to make you feel good!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, friendly staff, balloons, giraffes, good prices! Recommend the Mexican burger!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    359
    211
    78
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great time with the family.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Been here a few times with our children. The staff are brilliant with the little guys, very child friendly place. Now this is no kiddy meal type place. They put some serious thought into food for little diners.

As for the grown ups? Very much the same. You can sit here and relax with some very decent food and a cocktail or several. This is a place you remember fondly. When the family are down we will always try and eat at Giraffe. It's close to all the fun of the South Bank and the kids just love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RossB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food is truly awful but location is good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I had a (very) small meze to start and my friend had crispy shrimp. We both had beef enchiladas, which tasted like a badly cooked tesco value ready meal. all microwaved. Salad seemed like it had been left around. Avoid if you don't want to feel I'll afterwards!

Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good dinner on the Southbank...”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When I say surprising, it's not that I went expecting it to be bad. It's just very family oriented and full and loud and buzzing every time I walk past it so I wasn't expecting it to be so relaxed and reasonably priced (considering it's location) and full of friendly staff and well cooked, tasty food. And really, for a chain, in one of the busiest parts of London, what more could you ask for?

Welcoming waiters discussed the generous menu competently and a tip that the wine was half price when we there was gratefully accepted. Falafel burgers were big and well seasoned and crunchy, crumbly and cooked very well. Despite the inevitable noise from the forty five million children also in there, it wasn't anywhere near as intrusive as I'd expected and the meal was had in a very friendly and respectful atmosphere.

If you want an intimate dinner for two, this is clearly not the place for you. If you want prompt food served with a smile and a non-terrifying bill at the end, give Giraffe a go. You'll hopefully be as pleasantly surprised as I was.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful family dining.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a great restaurant for families. You know if the place is filled with kids, it must be a good place for them. The menu was HUGE and there were many, many different items to choose from. The kids menu had a large selection as well, which is not something often found. Service was very friendly and attentive. The food and drinks were served quickly and exactly as ordered. The best part of the meal was the Banana Waffle Split, for dessert. This was one amazing dish and I needed to fight off the family for my part.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giraffe - Royal Festival Hall also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe - Royal Festival Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing