We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buffet food was decent, had a very nice server”
Review of Poppadom Express - MOVED

Poppadom Express
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Description: In Britain, we love curry. It's become our national dish! The Poppadom Express invites you to feast on an ever-changing selection of exotic Indian dishes. Help yourself to cool kormas, aromatic tikka masalas, and tangy jalfrezis at our lunchtime and evening buffets. There's a delicious array of sides, chutneys and desserts too. Unwind with family and friends in a comfortable, authentic setting. Even by our standards, it's great value. Enjoy an evening meal including a tasty homemade naan bread or our lunchtime buffet which comes with a soft drink, beer or glass of wine. Takeaway options are available too: the Poppadom Express is a proper British curry-house, after all.
Medford, MA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“buffet food was decent, had a very nice server”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Plenty too choose from. nice fresh nan brought to table.. a few excellent dishes and a few that lacked flavor.. overall a decent deal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stugats10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    60
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We made a decision to eat here .. it was one of several places to eat near our hotel. Really wish we had chosen somewhere else.
It was an all you can eat Indian buffett.
We didn't eat much as the buffett lacked variety and imagination. The bill appeared high for what we had eaten. We will not be visiting this establishment again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Dawn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Give this one a pass”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were staying in the Tavistock and wanted to grab a quick dinner, although we'd actually been warned off this restaurant. Our server seemed somewhat irritated that we were interrupting his rest, although the restaurant was mostly empty. There were only three curry dishes in the buffet, one per heat level, and rice. What was there was oddly spiced - they all had heat, but not much else in the masala to recommend. The dessert buffet actually alarmed us. Overall, we would warn people to stay away from restaurant for its price when there are so many other places for a good curry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerringUndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was pouring with rain, the museums were crowded, a lunch break was needed. Having searched tripadvisor for local restaurants we found ourselves at Poppadom Express. It was clean,spacious and pleasant. While not a huge buffet selection the offerings were sufficient and some were very tasty. When meals can make a serious dent in your budget we felt the lunch deal to be good value, especially as the included soft drink was of a generous size. Certainly worth considering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Buffet meal was okay and sufficient to fill yourself up on for the set price however if you prefer a more authentic curry you may be happier elsewhere. Staff appeared friendly enough and the restaurant was spotlessly clean.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldunsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppadom Express also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing