We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Custom Piping looked great”

Crosstown Doughnuts & Coffee Soho
Get food delivered
Ranked #46 of 1,852 Quick Bites in London
Price range: US$3 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: All of our doughnuts are hand made fresh daily at our bakery in London - we use a hybrid sourdough which gives them a stronger crumb and bread-like texture. We are scratch bakers so make all our jams, compotes, fillings, glazes & toppings in-house and pride ourselves on using the best ingredients we can find.
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I ordered a box of 6 donuts with 2 x custom piping for my partner's birthday and our anniversary. It was very easy to place an order using the website and the employee was very friendly and easy to communicate with via email and on the phone. I had no problems picking up the donuts 5 days later, and they looked great. My partner loved the vanilla glazing, but thought the donuts were a bit too doughy for his taste (doughy doughnuts..) and didn't like the flavors I picked for the other 4 donuts (partly my fault but oh well!). Anyway, this was a fun and easy surprise to organize and we both enjoyed it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Worood A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

I genuinely cannot understand the praise this doughnut shop has received. I visited it today based solely on its great ranking, and I was bitterly disappointed. The doughnuts are sub par. They taste like a cheap version of Krispy Kream. But with less sugar, less flavour and triple the price. Truly awful. Taste nothing like the flavour they advertise. Example I had the dolce de leche and it was filled with banana tasting frosting. No taste of dolce de leche at all. The chocolate chilli was filled with cheap coco powder tasting filling.Save your money. Avoid!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 228izzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosstown D, Front Office Manager at Crosstown Doughnuts & Coffee Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the doughnuts you tried. All of our doughnuts are hand made fresh each day using high quality ingredients, and we experiment with different flavour combinations for a more balanced flavour profile; for example pairing the banana glaze and cinnamon crumble with the dulce de leche custard filling, as you mentioned. We also use a hybrid sourdough which makes our doughnuts quite different from other doughnuts, giving our doughnuts both a doughier texture and less sugary taste. Whilst we enjoy these differences we also understand that it won't be to everyone's tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Ordered 120 doughnuts for a staff picnic on the Friday, collected on the Saturday and the staff even helped me carry them to the car! Super helpful and friendly.
The doughnuts went down a treat!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lwillis2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I ordered a custom order of 60 Matcha Tea doughnuts for a client lunch. I found a number online - turned out it was for the Soho store, but when they answered they were very polite and gave me the number of the office. Crosstown quickly responded to my enquiry, and were very helpful throughout the whole process (good communication and explaining the different things they could offer) which resulted in a very quick turn around.

Originally requested for 1pm, a last minute change of events meant we needed the donuts for 11:30am. I called Crosstown, they were very helpful and said they would get hold of the driver and see if its possible. They got back to me within a few minutes to let me know the driver is on his way and will aim to be there for 11:30 - and so they were! Absolutely brilliant.

The doughnuts looked great and went down a treat. I had never heard of Matcha Tea before so was unsure what to expect, however the doughnuts were sweet with a subtle taste of tea. They were delicious and perfect for the morning refreshment break!

Great service and a great product. Would definitely use again!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jro2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We pre ordered 6 doughnuts to be picked up in canary wharf tube. The doughnuts were not as good as before and we found that the toppings were very minimal and not enough really for the price you pay for them. We do like the brand but we were disappointed this time around.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Crosstown Doughnuts & Coffee Soho also viewed

 

Been to Crosstown Doughnuts & Coffee Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.